1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Airbags fuse ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by dan98, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. dan98

    dan98 New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know where on earth this is?!
    It doesnt appear in the 'normal' place, and I need to temporarily disable all the side airbags (or the whole system)
    Car is the 130 TDI
    Cheers, Danke Schoen !
    DG.
     
  2. voorhees

    voorhees Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,604
    Likes Received:
    1,469
    On the seats ?
     
  3. dan98

    dan98 New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers for the suggestion---its the ones in the side panels i need to disable, ie. windscreen, seat belt tensioner area etc.etc.
    Guess there must be a master fuse somewhere..Hmmm
     
  4. voorhees

    voorhees Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,604
    Likes Received:
    1,469
    Why do you need to do this ? Disconnecting them will result in warning lights on the dash as why am asking.
     
  5. gen.heinz guderian

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    125
    Disconnect the battery and leave for 1/2 hour.
     
  6. dan98

    dan98 New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its only temporary to diagnose an obscure problem in an ICE installation.
    Ideally need to disable the whole system .
     
  7. dan98

    dan98 New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks - is there a way to disable without disconnecting battery? Ie. a fuse?
    Because need to check with engine running..
     
  8. voorhees

    voorhees Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,604
    Likes Received:
    1,469
    You'll need vagcom to reset the warning lights if the engine is running,
     
  9. dan98

    dan98 New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK sounds not easily possible then. Thanks anyway
     
  10. voorhees

    voorhees Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,604
    Likes Received:
    1,469
    Our vcds section has members everywhere Dan so its possible



    with beer tokens :)
     
  11. dan98

    dan98 New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah i see! Kind of a noobie here , cheers :)
     
  12. voorhees

    voorhees Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,604
    Likes Received:
    1,469
    No worries,we all started as noobs so nothing new Dan :beerchug:
     
  13. niallh

    niallh Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you can find someone with VCDS and the correct knowledge the airbags can be disabled whilst you carry out the work then re-enabled once youve done. Have disabled a friends steering wheel airbag so he can fit a momo steering wheel to his show car
     
  14. TDIQ

    TDIQ 8L > 8P > 8V

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    6
    Are the airbags even fused? I'm not so sure seeing as if the fuse blows then the airbags will fail to deploy. The only time they receive current is surely when they're deployed?
     

Share This Page