1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Air/Fuel ratio gauge

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Dan s3 audi, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. Dan s3 audi

    Dan s3 audi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,461
    Likes Received:
    2,031
    Not heard of them but looks pretty cool... :)

    <tuffty/>
     
  3. Dan s3 audi

    Dan s3 audi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know you can get loads of add ons for it
     
  4. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,461
    Likes Received:
    2,031
  5. Dan s3 audi

    Dan s3 audi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well as my ecu would not show any faults if it starts running lean etc i think i might invest in one of these. Where is the best place for the 02 sensor to go on the exhuast? could i get away with fitting it under the car rather than in the tight space of the engine bay. I have no cat on the car.
     
  6. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,461
    Likes Received:
    2,031
    Ideally need to be close to where the current one is... issues with moving it further away are it will suffer more from moisture in the exhaust (this is why Bill warms the car up under load to get the exhaust hot enough that moisture is not going to damage the probe in the tail pipe for the dyno), potential air leaks from the 2 bolt flange join that will dilute the readings (will look leaner than they are) and you also need to fit the probe at a certain angle... incorrect angle and moisture will kill off the probe...
    Oxygen Sensor Installation Issues (Tech Edge)

    Sorry to say but the best place to fit it will mean yo need to remove the DP for the boss to be welded :(

    <tuffty/>
     
  7. Dan s3 audi

    Dan s3 audi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    What a load of work lol how about the liquid gauge you have on your car. Does that not just plug into your ecu and can it read the air/fuel ration off that?

    Cheers
     
  8. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,461
    Likes Received:
    2,031
    Yes but... as you don't have a wideband lambda anyway it will still not read on WOT... to know what AFR is on yours then sadly wideband gauge or a wideband ECU conversion... conversion will need a complete new map though... they are very different between the ECU's

    <tuffty/>
     
  9. Dan s3 audi

    Dan s3 audi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guage it is then :)
     
  10. *P3nfold*

    *P3nfold* Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hi Dan,

    I used to run a NGK AFX AFR Kit on my standalone setup, very very accurate (air-fuel ratio (AFR) from 9.00 to 16.00), this was integrated into the map.

    http://www.ngksparkplugs.com/products/performance/afx.asp
     
  11. Prawn

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    10,306
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    I run an AEM Uego wideband gauge in mine. Like it very much
     
  12. Dan s3 audi

    Dan s3 audi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like a good kit that, just need to sorce out where i can get a gasket for my down pipe from where it joins the middle section as its a diffrent exhuast to the original (as i will need to remove the down pipe to get a boss welded on). How would i go about finding out what gasket i need?
     
  13. *P3nfold*

    *P3nfold* Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hey Dan,

    I would suggest taking a picture and seeing if any of the lads on the forum can help out? To be honest fella, the gasket may be ok?
     
  14. Dan s3 audi

    Dan s3 audi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have re-used the gasket a few times now adding a bit of heat proof silicon but it always has a slight blow to it.
     
  15. *P3nfold*

    *P3nfold* Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    13
    Picture me thinks?
     
  16. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,461
    Likes Received:
    2,031
    This the 2 bolt flange of a relentless DP? don't use a gasket... the supplied ones are ****... use high temperature sealant

    <tuffty/>
     
  17. mitsospal

    mitsospal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello.I have an s3 8l.I bought an aem uego gauge and i'm thinking to put the sensor above the wideband sensor.what is your opinion.can you post picture of yours?
     

Share This Page