1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Air conditioning not working???

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Wheeler97, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. Wheeler97
    Offline

    Wheeler97 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Today i tried to turn my aircon on but it just won't.When i press the button symbol indicating aircon comes on, and as soon as I release it is gone. :sos::wtf:
    #1
  2. kaizokuninja
    Offline

    kaizokuninja Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    could that mean it needs re-gassing? i'm a n00b so its just a suggestion=)
    #2
  3. Haglos
    Offline

    Haglos jabba mapped

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine also does this but then other times it works perfect
    #3
  4. s3ollie
    Offline

    s3ollie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    7
    i think it wont come on below a certain temp as the airs cold enough already. mine does it too
    #4
  5. Lenny Benford
    Offline

    Lenny Benford snowed under

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes what Ollie said, if its below a certain temp the air con will not come on, i think if you have the* displayed on the outside air temp it will not work.
    #5
  6. Wheeler97
    Offline

    Wheeler97 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    But if you press button with windshield icon it should also start the aircon, at least that used to happen
    #6
  7. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,274
    Likes Received:
    90
    Get it on vag com and see what comes up
    #7
  8. AS3TOM
    Offline

    AS3TOM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    for the aircon symbol to stay on the outside temp has to be above 5degrees
    #8
  9. hooley
    Offline

    hooley Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also check the fuse on top of the battery
    Mine went and knocked out the fans and air-con

    J.
    #9
  10. Wheeler97
    Offline

    Wheeler97 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    You were right, after a night in garage it started working. The outside temperature does matter. :salute:
    #10
  11. stickertone
    Offline

    stickertone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is silly though isnt it.. when you want the a/c to demist the windows you cant because the outside temp is too low.
    #11
  12. con1.8t
    Offline

    con1.8t New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem and find it hard to stop the windscreen misting up without the aircon . Is this directly linked to the air temp sensor ? if so where is it and can anyone think of a way to fool it into thinking its a bit warmer because I'd rather have a clear screen than know if its a bit cold outside.
    #12
  13. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    It doesn't just do it for fun, it's to protect part of the A/C system (can't remember which bit), but it's an important design feature.
    #13
  14. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,764
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    ...you could go oldskool and just direct hot air too the windscreen... just a thought :)

    A3/S3 aircon has a windscreen defrost button that does it for you too...

    <tuffty/>
    #14
  15. barters3
    Offline

    barters3 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    My brother is an ac engineer and he told me that it will not run in cold weather,as if it did then it would cut out on low presure. The presure of the gas in the system is affected by ambient temp. So this is why it is interlocked with the outside temp sensor.
    #15

Share This Page