1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Air con problem on friends new car .

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by RMH1A4cab, Aug 13, 2011.

  1. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Aug 13, 2011]
    Hi all , wonder if anyone on here could help.

    A mate of mine has today bought a 2004 1.9tdi SE 130 BHP Avant , drove the 100miles back from the garage with no problems , he rings me tonight to say the air con is not working so I call could to take a look.

    The problem is the econ light will not go out and the air being blown out is cool but nowhere near cold enough , I have tried everything to get it to turn off but with no success , anyone with any ideas .

    Thanks .
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,893
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Aug 13, 2011]
    The ECON light will come on by default when the system has a fault, this is in effect isolating the compressor so it doesn't get damaged. The system could be low on refrigerant, or there might be a fault with a pressure switch for example.
    #2
  4. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Aug 13, 2011]
    Thank you for speedy reply , would I be able to find the fault via vcds so I can pin point the problem.
    #3
  5. simon.m
    Offline

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 13, 2011]
    vcds will tell you most problems with the air con not sure if it will say about it being low or not thought
    #4
  6. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Aug 13, 2011]
    Thanks for that , i'll have a look tomorrow I hope its not anything to bad he only picked it up today .
    #5
  7. simon.m
    Offline

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 13, 2011]
    well mine dont work and when i scan it it dose not show any codes at all and my econ light works fine but compressor is not coming on.
    #6
  8. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,893
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Aug 13, 2011]
    First thing to do is take it to an aircon specialist and get them to test the pressure of the refrigerant, you'll instantly know then whether low refrigerant is to blame.
    #7
  9. gary3306
    Offline

    gary3306 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Aug 13, 2011]
    I'll hazard a guess that its just low on R134a or empty. A specialists machine will tell you instantly if there is refrigerant in there. A healthily topped up system, with the correct amount of R134a in, will be 5bar on both low and high side ports. Anything below about 2 bar, and the low pressure switch will prevent the compressor from switching on.
    #8
  10. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Aug 14, 2011]
    Thanks Gary , ill get it to my mates garage and get it checked out .
    #9
  11. gary3306
    Offline

    gary3306 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Aug 14, 2011]
    Pity you aren't closer, I would have sorted it out for you. Hope it just turns out to be a simple re-gas and nothing more costly.
    #10
  12. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Aug 14, 2011]
    Thanks for the offer Gary but your right you are a bit far away :).
    #11
  13. simon.m
    Offline

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 14, 2011]
    where abouts are you gary
    #12
  14. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    Finally got my mates car on vcds , threw up this fault.

    Address 08: Auto HVAC Labels: 8E0-820-043.lbl
    Part No: 8E0 820 043 AA
    Component: A4 Klimaautomat 1323
    Coding: 00000
    Shop #: WSC 63251
    VCID: 60CA0797CAD3


    1 Fault Found:
    00819 - High Pressure Sensor (G65)
    07-10 - Signal too Low - Intermittent
    #13
  15. simon.m
    Offline

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    i had the High Pressure Sensor on mine was about £35 about 2years ago from audi easy to fit its in the right hand side/ns of the aircon rad head light needs to come out to change it and then just unscrew it no need to worry about gas as none comes out.
    #14
  16. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    Thanks for that simon,from what iv'e read over the last hour it seems to be a common problem.

    I Will fit a new one and get it re gassed at the same time , hopefully that will sort it .
    #15
  17. simon.m
    Offline

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    yeah it is very common i did mine in the hope it was just that but im not that lucky lol
    #16
  18. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    Oh dear that doesn't sound good what was wrong with yours , i hope my mates is an easy fix as he's only had the car a few weeks ..
    #17
  19. simon.m
    Offline

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    i still have not got round to fixing mine looking like its the compresor
    #18
  20. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    Ouch that sound expensive .
    #19
  21. simon.m
    Offline

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    yep one of the resons iv not done it the othere is we live in the uk and thats the best thing to get rid of the heat from the sun ;-)
    #20
  22. gary3306
    Offline

    gary3306 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    Sorry Simon, only just seen your post. I'm in Ashington in Northumberland. About 16 miles north of the TOON! :sm4:
    #21
  23. simon.m
    Offline

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    no wories mate bit far for me as well
    #22
  24. bouffont
    Offline

    bouffont New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 17, 2013]
    Hello, I'm a newbie to this forum but have a very similar issue. I drive an A4 B7 2.0 TDi 170 and I have the same fault code as RMH1a4cab, no a/c and econ always on. However, I also have a noticeable clicking noise behind the head unit which is most prominent when the ignition is on but car not started. I bought the car in Dec 12 and its only now I'm realising the a/c isn't working. Any ideas? Could the preasure sensors cause the clicking? Gary3306, I live in North Tyneside!
    #23
  25. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [May 17, 2013]
    The clicking is probably the motorised flaps that direct air flow on the aircon etc they all do it. I would scan it and see what comes up.
    #24
  26. bouffont
    Offline

    bouffont New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 17, 2013]
    #25
  27. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [May 17, 2013]
    I would say this is a good place to start http://i.imgur.com/9N0UMBj.png

    seaech on here for the fault code and also the sensor number there are loads of threads on it as its quite s common fault. As fir the other fault codes not really an expert but if you google he fault code or look it up here it will point you in the right direction . Use this link Category:Fault Codes - Ross-Tech Wiki
    #26
  28. Audi Doodah
    Offline

    Audi Doodah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    34
    [May 18, 2013]
    Don't chase any faults till you've cleared them then scanned again in a few engine cycles. Apart from the pressure sensor, they have only occurred once so unlikely to be any problems.
    #27

Share This Page