1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aftermarket System switch off with Engine/Key Out

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by jay786, Feb 25, 2012.

  1. jay786
    Offline

    jay786 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 25, 2012]
    Installed an aftermarket system but it stays on after engine is off and key is out.
    I want it to switch on with engine and switch off too .. how do i do?

    Thank You
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Feb 25, 2012]
    You talking stereo?

    You need to take a feed from under the steering wheel to a relay which will power the stereo
    #2
  4. jay786
    Offline

    jay786 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 25, 2012]
    Yup im talking bout a stereo and what you just said made me shiver .. a feed from steering wheel ..??
    Can you elaborate please
    THanks
    #3
  5. jbcalvin
    Online

    jbcalvin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Feb 25, 2012]
    All audio units have what is known as a switched live, your aftermarket unit should have 2 power feeds to it, one permanent so the unit keeps all it's radio codes etc (normally a yellow wire), the other a switched live which powers up the unit when the ignition is turned on/turns it off when you take the key out.

    Did you fit it yourself, if so the instructions should have made this quite clear, if it was installed by someone else, take it back and tell them to sort it.....
    #4
  6. jay786
    Offline

    jay786 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 25, 2012]
    I fitted it myself .. no instructions coz second hand unit.
    I got 2 yellow feeds but one is not in use and a red feed .. guessing its ignition
    #5
  7. jbcalvin
    Online

    jbcalvin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Feb 26, 2012]
    There should be a wiring diagram on the back of the unit if not do an internet search to see which connection goes where......
    #6
  8. jay786
    Offline

    jay786 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 26, 2012]
    theres no wiring diagram ...

    yellow cable is battery right?
    and red/pink is ignition ..??
    #7
  9. jbcalvin
    Online

    jbcalvin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Feb 26, 2012]
    Wouldn't know...... someone on the internet or the manufacturer themselves should be able to give you a wiring diagram....
    #8
  10. slappy
    Offline

    slappy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 26, 2012]
    Make and model number of head unit would help.

    This would enable use to help find the ignition live lead rather than just connecting up any loose lead you find, thus damaging your new head unit.
    #9
  11. jay786
    Offline

    jay786 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 26, 2012]
    oo yeah ... its an xtron td714g
    #10
  12. jay786
    Offline

    jay786 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 26, 2012]
    i shall take a pic today and post it tonight ... please keep an eye for it slappy
    Thanks
    #11
  13. slappy
    Offline

    slappy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    2
  14. slappy
    Offline

    slappy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 26, 2012]
    #13
  15. jay786
    Offline

    jay786 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 27, 2012]
    #14
  16. slappy
    Offline

    slappy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 27, 2012]
    Yellow is battery/permament live/+12v/continuous/memory whatever you like to call it

    Red is ignition and/or switched live, this wire needs to be connected to your fusebox as it's needed to switch your system on and off

    Black is your ground or earth

    Hope this helps

    Tony
    #15
  17. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Feb 27, 2012]
    #16
  18. slappy
    Offline

    slappy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 27, 2012]
    Andy

    Which relay did you use for your feed? A standard switching relay?

    Tony
    #17
  19. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Feb 27, 2012]
    Yes just a standard 12v 5amp relay
    #18
  20. slappy
    Offline

    slappy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 27, 2012]
    Thanks Andy
    #19
  21. rawtor51
    Offline

    rawtor51 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Feb 27, 2012]
    I know on VW's you just need to swap the red and yellow wires around, I.e plug the red into the yellow and the yellow into the red, this will help the radio keep the programmed stations .
    Can anyone else confirm this please.?
    I don't want him blowing up his car cause u said to swap some wires around.
    #20
  22. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Feb 27, 2012]
    No on all Audi's 2000+ do not have a switched live at the HU, they use the CANBUS (data line) to tell the stock HU when the ignition is on, so you have to wire in a feed if you want this feature or buy a CANBUS emulator, however there is no guarantee this will give you the proper keys out switch off as it varies from car to car and it's an expensive gamble at £60 a pop.
    #21
  23. jay786
    Offline

    jay786 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 21, 2012]
    Red wire needs to be connected where in the fusebox?

    THanks
    #22
  24. slappy
    Offline

    slappy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 21, 2012]
    Get a multimeter and check the wires behind the fusebox for a switched live, the multimeter should display a voltage of approx 12v when the ignition is on and 0v when it's off.
    #23
  25. Emmo
    Offline

    Emmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 21, 2012]
    Fitted a head unit,sub and amp on an a3 on the weekend.

    The ignition live wire is a black and yellow wire. But do check as mentioned before to make sure you have the correct one.
    I also fitted a fuse inline with this wire when I tapped in to the wire in the fusebox to make sure its safe.
    #24
  26. Paul100
    Offline

    Paul100 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 22, 2012]
    I used a canbus emulator on mine. as it not only gives you the switched 12v but also outputs for the dimming, brake and mute etc.
    #25

Share This Page