1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aftermarket stereo, rear speakers and amp very low volume

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Snaithy, May 14, 2013.

  1. Snaithy
    Offline

    Snaithy New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all... i have spent 2 solid weeks going from place to place looking for someone who can sort out my problem... but no joy. I have an audi a3 sportback which originally had a symphony double din radio/cd installed. I decided to install an aftermarket gps/dvd/bluetooth etc stereo. Everything works great... but the back speakers and sub are half the volume of the front. When i use the fader towards the rear i get better sound but means i must put the H/U's volume up max! However no distortion.
    Is there anyway to remedie this without loads of rewiring and expense? Is there no volume on the factory amp? I dont mind keeping the factory sub and amp.. but just want the same volume all round without boosting volume to max! any help is much appreciated!
    #1
  2. Sidhu88
    Offline

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    74
    Can you detail every adaptor u used? what stereo did u install aswell?

    I've done a fair few audi installs and dependant on what adaptor u've used there may be ways around it, some come out louder than others weirdly enough. I've been told, not sure if its true cos i've found no evidence to back it up, that u can control the amp gain somehow on the factory amp, so u could in theory boost the gain level to compensate for the low volume input.
    #2
  3. Snaithy
    Offline

    Snaithy New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply...
    I bought a multimedia unit from Eonon. Unit is great... works perfectly. The guys at halfords fitted it. They just used the audi (iso i think its called) adapter... however ive just seen this... which is different to the one they fitted? do you think this is the one i need.. sounds like it from the description? Halfords | Autoleads PC9-404/PC9-410 - Audi ISO Lead/Harness Adaptor

    by the looks of it.. they just fitted a standard one in mine. rather than the one designed for the amp. So might go for this? what do you think?
    #3
  4. Sidhu88
    Offline

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    74
    If u check ur receipt it should tell u what the part number is. What system do you have in ur car? bose, non-bose? Under the assumption that you took a double din out to put this double din in you would have needed a quadlock adaptor not an iso, although something early model a3's used ISO's. What year is ur car? And what stereo did u have before that. Whereabouts are u based?
    #4
  5. Snaithy
    Offline

    Snaithy New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    im from newcastle. the stereo was factory... symphony (double din). My car is a 2004 a3 sportback. It has rear amp and sub... so i guess this lead will work. Also the head unit i am installing has phono connections for subs, rear left and right. so i think this might work. If not quad will be next attempt. The one that they fitted which is wrong i think... is PC9-401... And the one i am looking at which i hope will solve the problem... is PC9-404 / PC-410
    Last edited: May 15, 2013
    #5
  6. Sidhu88
    Offline

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    74
    It'll be ISO only not quadlock. U can try the 404, but im not sure if that will solve the problem. U could run an rca signal booster (pc9-460) with this tho
    #6
  7. Sidhu88
    Offline

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    74
    Also the 410 is for fully amp'd systems whereas the 404 is for half
    #7
  8. Snaithy
    Offline

    Snaithy New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see... I'm not following? It says on the site (pc9404 / pc9410) ?
    I presumed is was just the two seperate parts? Does that mean the one from halfords fits both?
    So I just don't connect the front Phono's?
    I remember when fitting a stereo was easy!! Ha
    #8
  9. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,491
    Likes Received:
    396
    What is the watt output from the stereo? May be the stereo can't push out enough sound
    #9
  10. Snaithy
    Offline

    Snaithy New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's 50w output. From the front it's very loud!! Rear is only problem I think because of the lead. Where as this one is specifically for the symphony half amplified. So going up this morning to sort it out. I'll let you know if it worked. Thanks for your advice and help :)
    #10
  11. Sidhu88
    Offline

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    74
    The guidelines on the website are very vague. The 404 and 410 are two completely different leads for two different applications. 404 is for half amp'd iso systems, 410 is for fully amp'd iso systems. So since urs is only rear speakers and sub, u need the 404. Its exactly the same as the 401 except it has rca's instead
    #11
  12. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,491
    Likes Received:
    396
    Things work so much easier when you just use the connects2 cables instead! these crappy autoleads adapters always cause issues!
    #12
  13. Snaithy
    Offline

    Snaithy New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah i was i'd known about connects2 before i bought all the other ****. bought that lead.. same issue... so have bought the pc9-460 booster which you mentioned. so will fit that when it arrives
    #13
  14. Sidhu88
    Offline

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    74
    Get a good power feed that isnt from the stereo loom. Check out my guide for wiring an ignition source if need be.
    #14
  15. Snaithy
    Offline

    Snaithy New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Decided to start over.. Took all the auto leads parts out. The booster just boosted all the engine noise etc.. So now ordered the connects 2 lead that has the active 2 channel box and gain controls. Hopefully this will work
    #15
  16. H_audi
    Offline

    H_audi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have the same problem:( I brought a connects 2 iso lead but realised it wasn't simply a plug and play so had to have it fitted. It needed running an extra wire for power source I think.
    The lead I used was a connects2 one, but it is exactly the same as this pc-9-401.

    My front speakers are fine but the back speakers are really quiet. Now I could use the fader to the back but it just really isn't the same as before:(

    did you manager to fix your issue? If so how?

    Many thanks in advance
    #16
  17. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,491
    Likes Received:
    396
    the connects2 leads do not need extra wires for power. i have used hundreds of those leads on installs that i have done and none have needed it. i would guess that you bought the wrong lead for your setup and thus needed some modification to get it to work.

    also the link to the ebay wires you sent are the autoleads loom
    #17
  18. H_audi
    Offline

    H_audi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply.
    The lead I brought was a connects2 CT20AU09 which is the same as the auto leads one so I just sent that link. This one difinitely needed modification.

    The quesion is what do I do next to resolve this issue? Is there a way I can wire this right or do I need to buy a new connects2 lead?

    Many thanks
    #18
  19. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,491
    Likes Received:
    396
    #19
  20. H_audi
    Offline

    H_audi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    #20
  21. H_audi
    Offline

    H_audi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    #21
  22. andyam
    Online

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    22
    I have a connect2 lead for 8p iso if you need it. It's used but I'm selling my a3 now so no longer need it. Pm me if you want it. Cheers. And ash is the man with this stuff helped me loads with my install!
    #22
  23. H_audi
    Offline

    H_audi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Andyam, I'm not sure if I need it and if it will fix my issue. I've used CT20AU09. which one do you have?

    Also i'm not sure when you will see this post because for some reason my posts aren't showing up until approved by a moderator. Mods please unblock this and let me post straight away, I promise I won't post any profanity lolll
    #23
  24. H_audi
    Offline

    H_audi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an 2005 audi a3 2.0tdi. I used the CT20AU09 but maybe I need the CT20AU10?

    Also I am thinking of instaling a sub and amp so do you think this will fix it? FYI it's a vibe active sub.
    #24
  25. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,491
    Likes Received:
    396
    This is the one you need!
    Connects 2 CTSAD002 - Audi A3 / A4 / TT Steering Wheel Control Interface Adaptor

    you have to remember that the older cars were not canbus and so the cheaper cables worked. on the newer cars you need to get the proper canbus cables. count your losses with the wires you have bought and just get the one i have linked. it will work with all the things you want.

    is this the same one you have Andyam?
    #25
  26. H_audi
    Offline

    H_audi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Ash, but I don't have the new quadlock connection or any steering wheel controls, I have the iso and red mini iso. I brought a similar one and it did not fit at all as I don't have the new quadlock connection.

    What about the CT20AU10, will this not work? Is there any way to modify the CT20AU09 connector?

    Also, I'm going to be adding in a active sub tomorrow, so will this solve my problem ? Can I just run the speakers off this amp, or should I get them working properly first by modifying the above cable?

    Thanks for your help.
    #26
  27. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,491
    Likes Received:
    396
    Ok where in the link did it mention it had a quadlock? the one you bought before may have been a quadlock version but that i because you bought the wrong lead... im starting to see a pattern here.

    I have already advised multiple times which lead will do the job! i have even given you a link to the sellers site in which i buy mine from (not to mention the same lead i have in my own car)
    now its up to you what you want to buy and how much time you want to spend on it.
    #27
  28. H_audi
    Offline

    H_audi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    The big block on the adapter you sent a link to, I have no where to connect that to. I also have no steering wheel control so why would you think this is the right lead?

    I've already spent quite a bit on the leads and fitting cost so I'm reluctant to spend any more, if there is a way to modify the one I have.
    #28
  29. andyam
    Online

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yes ash this is the lead I have mate.
    #29
  30. andyam
    Online

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    22
    H_audi the block is he canbus bit. You still need it. I don't have steering wheel functions either but used it and worked. I initially thought I didn't need the block. But you do. Just don't plug the other cable on the other side. Sorted
    #30
  31. H_audi
    Offline

    H_audi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh ok. So there is no simpler cable without the steering wheel bit which may be cheaper? Will this work simply as a plug and play solution?
    #31
  32. andyam
    Online

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    22
    It is plug and play dude. And also not that I know of. You could do a hard wire which for me was too much effort and ballache....
    #32
  33. H_audi
    Offline

    H_audi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I could do a hard wire, that would be much better right now, as I have already spent nearly £80 on cables and adapters already, so really don't want to spend any more if I can help it.
    if you have any links that might help with the wiring, that would be much appreciated dude.
    #33
  34. andyam
    Online

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    22
    I didn't look into it too much. Have a search on the threads mate should be able to pick it up.
    #34
  35. andyam
    Online

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    22
    Question...why don't you refund some of the cables? Surely they aren't past the 28days refund policy?
    #35
  36. H_audi
    Offline

    H_audi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    #36
  37. andyam
    Online

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    22
    That still won't work I don't think....as ash said CANBUS CANBUS CANBUS. That's the problem
    #37
  38. H_audi
    Offline

    H_audi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0

    Alright Ash, seems you know what you are talking about, so if I get this lead it would be solely based on your advise here.
    I just have one question for you; where would all the connections go, as all I have is the ISO and red mini ISO, as pictured in the link below.
    Image - TinyPic - Free Image Hosting, Photo Sharing & Video Hosting
    Is there a fitting guide you can point me to?



    [​IMG]
    Pic is upside down, but I guess you still see the connectors so it's all good.

    Thanks for your help!
    #38
  39. H_audi
    Offline

    H_audi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also Ash, this is a very similar one to what you suggested, but it looks liek the block on there fits iso and the red mini iso...I could be wrong and maybe am so feel free to correct me:)

    Connects 2 CTSAD003 - Audi A3 / A4 / TT Stalk Steering Wheel Interface Adaptor

    EDIT:
    I've been doing some more digging and I think the above is the one you may have been trying to direct me to, as the one you suggested first IS quadlock connector. It may not say it on the dynamic sounds site, but searching the same part number on another site says it's quadlock, see below.

    Connects2 CTSAD002 Audi A3 2005> Fakra/Quadlock [Connects2 CTSAD002] - £40.00 : Car Audio 4 Less, Car Audio System



    Is that right? Easy mistake to make I guess, they are very similar.
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2013
    #39
  40. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,491
    Likes Received:
    396
    do this, give the guys at dynamic sounds a call and tell them you want the iso version of the connects 2 steering wheel harness adapter... they will send you the right one. if you have a look at this link you will see they do loads of them adapters with slight variations on each Audi - Steering Wheel Control, Stalk Control Adaptor, CAN BUS Steering

    I was 99% sure that the one i first posted was the right one as they have listed it for 2003+ cars.... quadlock only came in sometime during 2006/2007
    #40

Share This Page