1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aftermarket stereo install - confirmation needed?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by PVO_Dave, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. PVO_Dave
    Offline

    PVO_Dave Back in a Quattro :)

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 14, 2011]
    Hi All,

    I've done some searching, but just wanted to clarify before I place any orders :)

    I've got a single din concert stereo at the moment, looking to replace with my own headunit.

    So, I need a facia, canbus adaptor, wiring harness and atenna adaptor.

    Can anyone confirm these are the items I need?

    Facia: Audi part, I think the number is: 8P00354595PR

    Canbus: CTSAD002 (Connects2) - My car is a 55 plate without Steering wheel controls, don't want to run anything from the fuse box this time.

    Harness: PC9-401 (Buy PC9-401 Audi Rear Amplified ISO Adaptor) ?

    Antenna adaptor: PC5-137 (Fakra Antenna Adaptor Filter to DIN online at Nexxia UK)

    Does that cover it? (have I got all the parts correct?)

    Thanks in advance :)

    Dave.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Nov 14, 2011]
    If you're replacing single din with double din then you also need new double din button surround and card tray (cup holder is too big but can be butchered) and double din HVAC control panel as the old one is too big to go down between the grab handles.

    Those are just for the physical fit - sorry can't confirm the part numbers or whether or not any other bits ( gps antenna/bluetooth etc )
    will also be required.
    #2
  4. PVO_Dave
    Offline

    PVO_Dave Back in a Quattro :)

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 14, 2011]
    Thanks Mike, no just putting another single din in there :)
    #3
  5. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,552
    Likes Received:
    407
    [Nov 14, 2011]
    i had an issue in mine where the aerial adapter i was using wasn't powering up the radio properly, i found that by not using the Fakra connection and using the other (standard Din) connection it would work better... and it did!

    here is a link to the one i am now using...
    eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace

    just wanted to know is your car an 8P or 8L?
    #4
  6. PVO_Dave
    Offline

    PVO_Dave Back in a Quattro :)

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 14, 2011]
    Thanks Ash,

    8P as far as I know (2005 - avatar is of my old 2002 blue A3 I had)
    #5
  7. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,552
    Likes Received:
    407
    [Nov 14, 2011]
    ahh ok, thats why i asked.
    why dont you go for a double din upgrade? looks and functions so much nicer!
    #6
  8. PVO_Dave
    Offline

    PVO_Dave Back in a Quattro :)

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 14, 2011]
    I looked at the options, RNS-E doesn't do what I want it to without spending even more on modules etc.. (bluetooth and proper iPod integration)

    Dynavin, well looked OK, but not sure I want a screen on display in my car anyway.

    I've got a Kenwood unit I bought earlier in the year that has a parrot bluetooth hansfree kit and also has full iPod control, am just planning to stick that in :)
    #7
  9. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,552
    Likes Received:
    407
    [Nov 14, 2011]
    ok fair enough...
    here is what is in mine:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #8
  10. PVO_Dave
    Offline

    PVO_Dave Back in a Quattro :)

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 14, 2011]
    Not worried about having that stolen?

    I'm just a bit paranoid these days, I don't live in a bad area, but when I had my S4, I had my mirrors stolen one night, police reckon I was followed home one night, then they came back to get them! (there were a lot of thefts of the mirrors in the surrounding areas at the time. Could do without the paranoia) :)
    #9
  11. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,552
    Likes Received:
    407
    [Nov 14, 2011]
    its been in for over a year and half, plus i have tints on the windows so not really clear what unit i have from outside the car...
    also i did something to it when installing it which now makes it a right b*tch to get it back out again... which is why i like to leave it where it is :) the mistake i made has become a good security feature :p

    as for being worried... i mean if thats the attitude to keep then shouldnt we all be worried that we will wake up to see the car is missing? or should we always be worried that we may just get mugged by 10 guys while walking down the street at night? just saying mate, its better to worry what day il be getting paid and what the wife should wear when meeting my boss than things being stolen... thats what insurance is for
    #10
  12. PVO_Dave
    Offline

    PVO_Dave Back in a Quattro :)

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 14, 2011]
    Guess so, could just do without the hassle :)
    #11
  13. PVO_Dave
    Offline

    PVO_Dave Back in a Quattro :)

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    Can anyone confirm I've got the right bits before I press the buy button :)
    #12
  14. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,552
    Likes Received:
    407
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    just wondering, why would you be getting the steering wheel control cable if you have no controls on your steering wheel??
    #13
  15. PVO_Dave
    Offline

    PVO_Dave Back in a Quattro :)

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    Hello again lol

    I only want the Canbus adaptor for ignition and illumination, I ran a wire from the fusebox on the last A3, but don't fancy doing that again :)
    #14
  16. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,552
    Likes Received:
    407
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    ahh i see, lol

    yh everything looks ok from what i can see. i take it your car does not have bose?

    also remember to get the din adapter for the aerial and not the fakra one.
    #15
  17. PVO_Dave
    Offline

    PVO_Dave Back in a Quattro :)

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    #16
  18. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    Was it hard to do the rear camera install for RNSE. Appreciate on the 3 door I have some immediate challenges re: reversing camera location, but other than that do you need modules / wiring harnesses?
    #17
  19. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,552
    Likes Received:
    407
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    yeh that one has the actual din connection on the end so it will go straight into the back of your kenwood unit without the extra adapter needed.
    #18
  20. PVO_Dave
    Offline

    PVO_Dave Back in a Quattro :)

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    Thanks, I'll order those bits up :)
    #19
  21. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,552
    Likes Received:
    407
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    this isnt on the RNSE, its on my Pioneer unit.
    the actual camera is located in one of the number plate lights:

    [​IMG]

    its wired into the car with a video signal cable that runs to the head unit and a power cable which is advised to wire onto the reverse bulbs light so that the camera turns on when you select reverse. As my headunit also allows me to manually activate the camera on the screen with a button i wired up the camera power to the live that runs to the rear wiper motor
    #20
  22. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    I was wondering whether if I was to buy your version of the rear reversing camera / number plate light if I could pay Nige to retrofit it into the RNSE Mk2 (I currently have front & rear sensors with PDC on screen).

    Appreciate it was a Pioneer unit, just wondered if it was a tough retrofit installation.
    #21
  23. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,552
    Likes Received:
    407
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    well the retrofit needed me to run the wires from the boot hatch through to the side of the boot and then down the side of the car to the glove box and behind the Headunit. hiding the wires and doing it properly takes alot of time and patience, from your threads Warren that doesnt look like something you cant handle

    the real pain is getting the wires out the boot hatch in and the side of the boot where the Bose sub is... the covers and grommets in those areas are tight.

    after that is all done the rest is fairly simple... though one warning i have found that the small LED bulb next to the camera lasts a few weeks and then dies leaving you with a half lit number plate :(

    still looking for a fix for this as the camera is a sealed unit with the led light built in.
    #22
  24. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,552
    Likes Received:
    407
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    #23
  25. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    Appreciate the info, hoping it may be easier than that, but then given the video cabling it was wishful thinking!

    Don't think I can bring myself to tear the car apart for this just yet so I'll put that one on ice and return to suspension! If it had been a reverse light / camera unit, a fakra connector and some coding I would have done it! Thanks for all the links.
    #24
  26. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,552
    Likes Received:
    407
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    no probs mate, if you want i could always come and rip the car apart for you :p

    i was looking for a more oem camera so i could put the standard number plate light back in but the oem ones have the silly Canbus wiring on it and cannot be converted.
    #25

Share This Page