1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aftermarket HU Help :S

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by kaz219, Feb 6, 2009.

  1. kaz219

    kaz219 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi guys.

    Car in question is my 2004/54 Audi A3 TDI S-Line DSG.

    I've got an Alpine Headunit but I've wired the RED and YELLOW wires together so it stays on permanetly untill i pull the face off.

    However, I now want the HU to go off when the keys come out! It gets a bit annoying taking the HU off when your just popping in somewhere for a min or so.

    I cant afford the CANBUS adapter but, i was told i could get a wire from somewhere and join it with another wire in the HU (im assuming the red one) to make the HU go off when the keys come out.

    I found Yoga's thread in the ICE section but it didnt say what wires.

    If someone could help, I would really really appreciate it :D

    My knowledge of any wires except what the wires in the headunit do is limited lol

    Cheers and Thanks in Advance!
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. pns2007

    pns2007 Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    24
  4. redbutcher

    redbutcher Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you'll be looking for a switched feed. In the 8p you can take it straight from the fuse box as I've done for my Parrot kit. MarcQuinlivan has a nice pic of the fuse you need in the post below:

    clicky
     
  5. kaz219

    kaz219 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    2
    [​IMG]

    Hmmm... So i just shove a wire in the fuse connector and conect it to the red wire on my stereo - sounds simple enough :D

    Thanks Redbutcher

    But will that not cause the fuse to blow?
     
  6. redbutcher

    redbutcher Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem mate.

    I'm guessing your yellow wire is a permanant live and the red wire is the switched feed.

    I don't think you'll have any problems with the fuse going though I'm not the worlds best car electrics bod on the forum (hopefully one of them can confirm this for you if they see this post).

    All I did was remove the fuse, wrap the wire around one of the pins and shove the fuse back in - works a treat :icon_thumright:.
     
  7. kaz219

    kaz219 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    2

    Nice one mate!

    Cant wait till its warm again!

    Get all this bloody mods out my bedroom! lol


    Are you over on uk-mkivs too - recognise the car in your avator!
     
  8. redbutcher

    redbutcher Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup - well spotted mate :laugh:. I used to have a MK5 Golf so used to spend most of my time over there until I got the A3.
     
  9. kaz219

    kaz219 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    2
    :D Same ere - i use to have a Mk4 Autograph Edition - good cars the golf - mine just kept breaking down and when the gearbox blew for the 2nd time - i sold it lol
     
  10. GeoffT

    GeoffT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to make sure you connect to the correct pin of the existing fuse connection. If you connect to the "supply" side, the new circuit will need it's own fuse in-line to protect it. If you connect to the "load" side, the new circuit is adding to the load on the existing fuse. Depending on the existing circuit rating it's possible the new circuit may overload it and blow it.

    The best way of doing it is to get a "piggy-back" fuse connector which takes 2 fuses, 1 to protect the original circuit and 1 for the new circuit created by the flying lead supplied . See below:
    [​IMG]
     
  11. kaz219

    kaz219 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    2
    GeoffT - where can i get one from. Searched on the bay and stuff and cant find a decent one :S

    Looked on the bay and my local Incaraudio shop but nothing :S

    Thanks for that :D
     
  12. kaz219

    kaz219 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    2
  13. GeoffT

    GeoffT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're welcome, glad you found one.
     
  14. kaz219

    kaz219 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    2
    :D
     
  15. itssam

    itssam A3 3.2Q Sport

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    So which side of the fuse is the supply side then? i'm putting a parrot kit in and the kit has an inline fuse already so might as well plug it in that side...
     
  16. MattyV5

    MattyV5 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all, first post so be nice......

    I will be fitting my Becker Indianapolis to my 2004 A3. Am I right in thinking i will need this CAN-BUS adaptor for the pulse singnals and reverse sensor?

    If so, once I have this adaptor, what other lead will I need?

    and....

    Where is the best place for fascia that matches the current trim, Audi?

    Thanks all
     
  17. MattyV5

    MattyV5 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bump.... sorry :sorry:
     
  18. Gti Jazz Blue

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    7
    Not sure on the CAN-BUS interface but I can vouch for the Audi single DIN trim as I used that with my Alpine HU and it matches the rest of the dash trim perfectly (as you'd expect).

    Paul
     

Share This Page