1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

aftermarket headunit no power

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by dplovin, Apr 10, 2013.

  1. dplovin
    Offline

    dplovin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    4
    ive removed concert stereo(non bose) and cd changer and decided to install a kenwood kdc 3041 I had lying around. also bought pc9-404 loom, ariel adapter. hooked it all up but getting no power? im abit of a newbie when it comes to all this stuff.
    #1
  2. Mollygoogle
    Offline

    Mollygoogle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    1
    The standard stereo uses a canbus connection and doesnt use an ignition live. This means that when you replace it with an aftermarket unit there is no power. You need to run an ignition live to the new unit. You can take it from several places but I took it from the fuse panel in the drivers side dash
    #2
  3. dale86
    Offline

    dale86 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    9
    Or try runnig red and yellow power wires together only thing is that it will stay turned on when you take the keys out of ignition then you will have to switch the head unit off yourself I have mine like this and ive learnt to deal with it for now lol.
    #3
  4. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    #4
  5. SL11CKK
    Offline

    SL11CKK Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    29
    What you doing with your cd changer? Ill have it if you give it for a good price!
    #5
  6. dplovin
    Offline

    dplovin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    4
    all done cheers for the help peeps
    #6

Share This Page