1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aftermarket front seats (Mounting)

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Markb, Dec 3, 2005.

  1. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 3, 2005]
    As subject I am may be purchasing some Recaro front seats out of another factory car. The only problem is they are from a 5 door car and come with their own runners. (Hopefully I'll be able to modify the bases to fit though?)

    Anyway I was just wondering how you would normally go about fitting aftermarker seats? Will the new subframe with the seat also use the existing seat belt clip? Also what about the air bags in the seats? How will the system function without these?

    Cheers Mark.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 26, 2014]

  3. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 3, 2005]
    Mark,

    I take it you will be purchasing Recaro tailored bases for the A3?
    I think you need to remove the seat belt clip from your seats and mount it to the subframe of the new seats.

    Also with regard to the airbag, i believe that if one doesnt work, they all wont work....So you may need to creat a circuit in the loose connector to stop it from generating faults...

    Rich
    #2
  4. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 3, 2005]
    Hmm I'll have to look into this further, but surely I'm not the first person to fit aftermarket seats into an A3!

    I was planning on modifying the existing runners on the seats! By either welding more supports on or by removing metal work.

    Also I don't like the sound of having no air bags!

    Although for £35 for 2* Recaro seats I can't really say no!
    #3
  5. S3Steve
    Offline

    S3Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Dec 4, 2005]
    What Recaro seats have you managed to pick up for £35, sounds like a real bargain! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif
    #4
  6. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    What Recaro seats have you managed to pick up for £35, sounds like a real bargain! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    You'll have to wait until he's fitted them to find out.

    Mr. B likes to be secretive :)
    #5
  7. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Hmm I'll have to look into this further, but surely I'm not the first person to fit aftermarket seats into an A3!

    I was planning on modifying the existing runners on the seats! By either welding more supports on or by removing metal work.

    Also I don't like the sound of having no air bags!

    Although for £35 for 2* Recaro seats I can't really say no!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Best bet would be Recaro bases... They will (or should!) just fit...It really does depend which car they are from though!
    #6
  8. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    Contacted Recaro the nett price is £144 per seat on the bases! Not sure what to do now as that's a lot of money for not much metal LOL

    Mr welder might be coming out instead LOL
    #7
  9. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Contacted Recaro the nett price is £144 per seat on the bases! Not sure what to do now as that's a lot of money for not much metal LOL

    Mr welder might be coming out instead LOL

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Thats a little steep!

    What about universal bases?
    #8
  10. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Contacted Recaro the nett price is £144 per seat on the bases! Not sure what to do now as that's a lot of money for not much metal LOL

    Mr welder might be coming out instead LOL

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Thats a little steep!

    What about universal bases?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I will enquire, but may be they are that price as they get around the issue of the airbags? Don't know, but I've Emailed them.
    #9
  11. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    I wouldnt have thought so... I think thats a hurdle you have to overcome yourself... A wiring diagram would give you what you needed though. I think you would just need to complete a circuit or something so it thinks teh aribag is still there...

    Rich
    #10
  12. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    Would normal recaro runners from an A3 work? if so try audi or a scrappy?
    #11
  13. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    Perhaps adding a resistor of the correct value would fool the air bag control unit?
    #12
  14. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    Yeah im thinking something along those lines... Im sure there is somethin on here about that...
    #13
  15. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    #14
  16. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    Cheers for the info guys.

    I emailed Recaro and a "resistor" is supplied with the kit.

    So £144 for a tailored subframe, with provisions for seat belt clip or buckle seems a lot to me!
    #15
  17. god_thats_quick
    Offline

    god_thats_quick Numptie of the highest order

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    Well from my point of view seems worth it for piece of mind! Infact that said I wouldn't be going without the side airbags full stop let alone contemplating buggering about with the seat mountings... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shocked2.gif

    You're a braver man than me! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif
    #16
  18. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    Mark,

    Yeah sounds alot to me too! The seat belt clip, can be bolted to the subframe. Use the biggest bolt you can, through the subframe and that will be fine! As for the resistor..pence!
    #17
  19. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    Cheers Rich.

    I won't be using the seat belts as I am planning on harnesses, but I believe you need to leave the front belts in for an MOT? So the existing belt clips will have to stay.

    I take the clip is just a clip and hasn't got any pre-tensioners or wires attached to it?

    Also I know it's a long shot, but has anyone got any pics of the floor pan with the seats removed?

    I am planning on going a scrappy and getting some original frames from an A3. Then I will be able to butcher them to get the clips and maybe make a new frame...

    Cheers Mark.
    #18
  20. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]

    You're a braver man than me! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Don't know about brave.

    Maybe stupid LOL
    #19
  21. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    If you don't find any A3 frames, you can use MK4 golf items. There is usually more of them at most breakers.

    There was a photo of the seat removed on that link rich posted. MK4 and A3 look the same.
    #20
  22. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    Cheers Kev will look into that.

    If they come out and the floor pan is left like this:

    [​IMG]

    There should be much of a problem, but I was looking earlier and it looked like the runners where part of the floor? As the carpet was going over them.
    #21
  23. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    Oh bugger. Forget what I said. That's an Audi TT, which is a bit different.

    I was speed reading as I'm at work.

    Soz, I'll see if I can find another pic. I saw one on the vortex recently.
    #22
  24. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Oh bugger. Forget what I said. That's an Audi TT, which is a bit different.

    I was speed reading as I'm at work.

    Soz, I'll see if I can find another pic. I saw one on the vortex recently.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Cheers dude I thought it was a TT, but then again I was speed viewing so thought I may have been wrong.
    #23
  25. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    #24
  26. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    Nice one dude.

    I will have a look on google and see if I can come up with any info about the resistor that is required.
    #25
  27. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    Hmmm....

    that's how I thought the floor pan was

    [​IMG]

    Now how the hell would I go about mounting another set of runners to that? If it was flat like the TT I wouldn't be worried, but like that.....
    #26
  28. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    #27
  29. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Cheers Rich.

    I won't be using the seat belts as I am planning on harnesses, but I believe you need to leave the front belts in for an MOT? So the existing belt clips will have to stay.

    I take the clip is just a clip and hasn't got any pre-tensioners or wires attached to it?

    Also I know it's a long shot, but has anyone got any pics of the floor pan with the seats removed?

    I am planning on going a scrappy and getting some original frames from an A3. Then I will be able to butcher them to get the clips and maybe make a new frame...

    Cheers Mark.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    |Yep,

    you'll be needing the betls for the MOT... So i guess they dont actually matter anyway! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    have you decided where to anchor the harnesses to?

    I shall also be doing what you are doing, shortly... Using Sparco Torinos (milanos if money funds permit). There are some nice anchor points at the base of the rear seat backs... But havent actually tried anything as yet. If the rear seats were gone, it would be easy! Rear strut brace, loop the harnesses round and jobs a good'un!
    #28
  30. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Hmmm....

    that's how I thought the floor pan was

    [​IMG]

    Now how the hell would I go about mounting another set of runners to that? If it was flat like the TT I wouldn't be worried, but like that.....

    [/ QUOTE ]

    So... I presume that the tailored bases use the remaining part of the seat subframe?

    Rich
    #29
  31. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Cheers Rich.

    I won't be using the seat belts as I am planning on harnesses, but I believe you need to leave the front belts in for an MOT? So the existing belt clips will have to stay.

    I take the clip is just a clip and hasn't got any pre-tensioners or wires attached to it?

    Also I know it's a long shot, but has anyone got any pics of the floor pan with the seats removed?

    I am planning on going a scrappy and getting some original frames from an A3. Then I will be able to butcher them to get the clips and maybe make a new frame...

    Cheers Mark.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    |Yep,

    you'll be needing the betls for the MOT... So i guess they dont actually matter anyway! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    have you decided where to anchor the harnesses to?

    I shall also be doing what you are doing, shortly... Using Sparco Torinos (milanos if money funds permit). There are some nice anchor points at the base of the rear seat backs... But havent actually tried anything as yet. If the rear seats were gone, it would be easy! Rear strut brace, loop the harnesses round and jobs a good'un!

    [/ QUOTE ]


    Yeah I'll be leaving the seat belts in just for MOT. Although I would have liked to have taken them out for looks.

    I've thought about the harnesses and as you know I've got no rear seats. So I will be mounting them to the rear seat belt mounting points as they will be removed as well!

    I'm also getting a custom roll cage. So I might have a rear strut brace welded in as well. As there are no strut tops to mount to....

    Mark.
    #30
  32. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Hmmm....

    that's how I thought the floor pan was

    [​IMG]

    Now how the hell would I go about mounting another set of runners to that? If it was flat like the TT I wouldn't be worried, but like that.....

    [/ QUOTE ]

    So... I presume that the tailored bases use the remaining part of the seat subframe?

    Rich

    [/ QUOTE ]

    That's what I am assuming.

    Maybe that's why they are so expensive?
    #31
  33. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Cheers Rich.

    I won't be using the seat belts as I am planning on harnesses, but I believe you need to leave the front belts in for an MOT? So the existing belt clips will have to stay.

    I take the clip is just a clip and hasn't got any pre-tensioners or wires attached to it?

    Also I know it's a long shot, but has anyone got any pics of the floor pan with the seats removed?

    I am planning on going a scrappy and getting some original frames from an A3. Then I will be able to butcher them to get the clips and maybe make a new frame...

    Cheers Mark.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    |Yep,

    you'll be needing the betls for the MOT... So i guess they dont actually matter anyway! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    have you decided where to anchor the harnesses to?

    I shall also be doing what you are doing, shortly... Using Sparco Torinos (milanos if money funds permit). There are some nice anchor points at the base of the rear seat backs... But havent actually tried anything as yet. If the rear seats were gone, it would be easy! Rear strut brace, loop the harnesses round and jobs a good'un!

    [/ QUOTE ]


    Yeah I'll be leaving the seat belts in just for MOT. Although I would have liked to have taken them out for looks.

    I've thought about the harnesses and as you know I've got no rear seats. So I will be mounting them to the rear seat belt mounting points as they will be removed as well!

    I'm also getting a custom roll cage. So I might have a rear strut brace welding in as well. As there are no strut tops to mount to....

    Mark.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Ah i had forgotten! Didnt get a chance to scrutinise your car at Audi driver! Yours is nice and easy then!

    Was lloking for the Turn2 rear strut brace, but found this...

    http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=2101961

    Rich
    #32
  34. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Hmmm....

    that's how I thought the floor pan was

    [​IMG]

    Now how the hell would I go about mounting another set of runners to that? If it was flat like the TT I wouldn't be worried, but like that.....

    [/ QUOTE ]

    So... I presume that the tailored bases use the remaining part of the seat subframe?

    Rich

    [/ QUOTE ]

    That's what I am assuming.

    Maybe that's why they are so expensive?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    May well be. Its a fair bit of £££, but maybe its worth it...
    #33
  35. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]

    Ah i had forgotten! Didnt get a chance to scrutinise your car at Audi driver! Yours is nice and easy then!

    Was lloking for the Turn2 rear strut brace, but found this...

    http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=2101961

    Rich

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Not too sure on them looks wise, but if they work....
    #34
  36. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    I've emailed them to get a shipping quote... at $48 (£30!) i might just get one for the sake of it... If it doesnt work so well, will sell it.

    Rich
    #35
  37. imported_VaulterTim
    Online

    imported_VaulterTim Guest

    [Dec 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Nice one dude.

    I will have a look on google and see if I can come up with any info about the resistor that is required.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    If the third band on the resistor in the pic is brown (I think it is, any suggestions from someone less colourblind!? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif) then it is 370 ohms.

    A simple way to check what value you need would be to put a multimeter across the corresponding pins on the seat side of the plug/socket to see what the impedance is... that way you'll know for sure /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    Cheers

    T
    #36
  38. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 5, 2005]
    That's good to know.

    Looks brown to me.

    Nice one.
    #37
  39. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 6, 2005]
    You gonna get the engine done?

    Your cars gonna be all show and no go.
    #38
  40. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 6, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    You gonna get the engine done?

    Your cars gonna be all show and no go.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    All show and no go /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif

    It's a 1.8T and goes well enough at the moment with all of the weight reduction measures /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    Engine will be chipped next year time when funds permit (and insurance premium doesn't go up £400 /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shocked.gif ), but at the moment I am happy with the performance /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif
    #39
  41. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 6, 2005]
    Hee-hee, I'm only pulling your leg.

    Indeed, insurance can be a bummer!
    #40

Share This Page