1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aftermarket Double Din Head unit

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by jimmy S3, Dec 9, 2008.

  1. jimmy S3

    jimmy S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ve seen a double din kenwood sat nav/dvd/cd player and wondered could it be fitted to my S3 with concert stereo, would i have to get a plastic panel to go round it and would the colour match. Or should i just get OE sat nav
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. HODD

    HODD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the kenwood sat nav dvd double din and I had to use the new a3 double din stereo surround and modify it as you cant get one for our model.
     
  4. benr

    benr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    1
  5. HODD

    HODD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
     
  6. jimmy S3

    jimmy S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats exactly how i want it, mines the single concert stereo if i move the climate control down will the double din stereo fit in or will i have to get a double din cage, what panel did ya use
     
  7. S£

    S£ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    0
    don't quote me on this but i do belive you can't just move the climate unit down, the one that sits in the middle is a different part no to the one at the bottom. I think it's slightly smaller as the dash curves in at the bottom.
     
  8. HODD

    HODD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    I shaped the air con unit to fit, the single din cage I modified and rivited in the kenwood cage.
     
  9. benr

    benr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    1
    yep, can modify the climatecontrol with something like a dremel.

    You can do as HODD has said or you can just get a double din cage but iirc they are about £60.

    Very neat install there HODD
     
  10. Ibzzzzz

    Ibzzzzz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    3
    That does look the ****!
     
  11. HODD

    HODD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the best finish go for the factory stuff as you can't get it perfect modifiying the new shape a3 surround.
     
  12. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,011
    Likes Received:
    2,297
    This is exactly what I was going to do with mine but went for a single din setup instead. I managed to swap my double din cage and climate control unit for a single din setup.

    I would have liked to have done the double din replacement and I have an A4 fascia that I started to mod to do it but not really that bothered about sat nav or video so decied to do the single din approach.

    Only downside is that I have a double din Symphony 2 unit I can't put back in when I eventually sell the car...

    <tuffty/>
     

Share This Page