Votes: 4 23.5%
  • Nay

Votes: 13 76.5%
  • No comment

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Hyosung

Reaction score
So I don't really like the alloys that audi offered to me on the A3 so I went on ebay to look for some nicer ones and I came across a lot of listings similar to this one

4 X 19" TT RS STYLE ALLOY WHEELS FIT AUDI TT ALLOYS ROTOR STYLES ALLOYS | eBay

Now my question is considering how cheap these are compared to genuine ones sold by Audi how do they compare?

Is it worth the almost extra grand to get genuine ones?

Has anyone bought a fake set like this one and have any horror stories?

It's always an emotive subject - replicas v's genuine. I'm sure there'll be people along shortly to give you a balanced view point.

I've had both over the years and had both good and bad replicas. I've also shelled out big money for genuine BBS split rims

Unfortunately I can't offer any advice on these particular rims as I've got no experience of them and been in a company car and family bus for a few years now.

Your doing the right thing though by asking the question as there are good and bad out there.

I would not trust my life on 'replica' wheels... Bit like Tescos value Lager.... might look OK but tastes like PI 55 D**

Reactions: DrTS, 45bvtc and lloydie1994
I'm with RAPS3. I have had some very good sets of reps in the past. You could literally not tell the difference, and did not warp or crack over some very large bumps.

I have had others though that didn't fair so well.

When going for reps, I tend to go with those who had a good rep, i.e. VMR, TSW, Hartmann, etc.

Reactions: Hyosung
Okay I'll look at those brands you recommended

I saw a TV programme that showed piles of failed alloy wheels. There are many being imported that a sub standard and made in China or else where.