1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AEB & AJL Engine Differences

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by hardhitter, Mar 12, 2010.

  1. hardhitter
    Offline

    hardhitter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 12, 2010]
    Can anyone list the differences between the AEB and AJL 1.8T engines. Interested in compression ratio, cylinder head and internal featuers really.

    Thanks
    #1
  2. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,338
    Likes Received:
    421
    [Mar 12, 2010]
    They're identical.

    Even the external features such as manifolds and turbocharger are all the same.
    #2
  3. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,896
    Likes Received:
    360
    [Mar 12, 2010]
    yep, even the early AJLs share the same sensors too, the later ones have a different set of sensors with different sensors inc the oil quality sender in the sump for the AVS rubbish. Mine doesnt :icon_thumright:
    #3
  4. hardhitter
    Offline

    hardhitter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 12, 2010]
    ok, cheers :icon_thumright:
    #4
  5. Iceash
    Offline

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Jun 26, 2012]
    I thought the AJL engine run 180bhp and the AEB run 150bhp?
    #5
  6. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,338
    Likes Received:
    421
    [Jun 26, 2012]
    yep, but thats because Audi simply remapped it from the factory. There were no hardware changes to get the increase in power.
    #6
  7. Iceash
    Offline

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Jul 3, 2012]
    That's handy to know, Thanks :)
    #7
  8. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,842
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Sep 22, 2012]
    Any ideas for mapping a AJL? I have been wondering about if you go big turbo who is best to map it as most places are just interested in the flashable A4's nowadays.
    Anyone in the US will probably not have heard of an AJL as I do not think they got this engine.
    #8
  9. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,551
    Likes Received:
    153
    [Sep 22, 2012]
    R-tech or unicorn are your best bet they both seem to know there stuff with these ecu's.
    #9
  10. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,896
    Likes Received:
    360
    [Sep 22, 2012]
    Or convert to ME7 and get it tuned anywhere that does 1.8t tuning.

    Rtech know these ECUs inside and out, I think Rick can do chip tuning, not 100%
    #10
  11. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,842
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Sep 22, 2012]
    Any links on how to convert please?

    It a big job?
    #11
  12. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,338
    Likes Received:
    421
    [Sep 23, 2012]
    Its not a "link" or "howto" job tbh, its fairly involved.

    You need to swap the pedal box for a DBW version, swap the throttle to a DBW version, aquire a suitable ME7 harness from a DBW A4 and a suitable ECU, tweak some wiring to add the various electronic throttle specific stuff, swap the MAF and injectors to suitable versions, add a boost sensor, swap in a wideband lambda and probably various other bits i've forgotten.
    #12
  13. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,842
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Sep 23, 2012]
    Sounds like a way too big job for me! Thanks for the information, think using one of the other tuners is an easier option.
    #13
  14. gmx
    Offline

    gmx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 27, 2012]
    Speaking of which, any progress on your conversion Kev?
    #14
  15. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,338
    Likes Received:
    421
    [Sep 27, 2012]
    Almost there.

    Marks is up and running, albeit on Me7.1. I just need to find some time to swap out the pedal box then i can get stuck in with the wiring.
    #15
  16. gmx
    Offline

    gmx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 29, 2012]
    I assume the only wiring needed is the DBW pedal loom for the ECU itself?
    #16
  17. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,338
    Likes Received:
    421
    [Sep 29, 2012]
    You need the entire engine harness, then inside you need to add the loom for the pedal, as well as the clutch and brake switches and cruise control if you want that.

    Given ME7.5 A4 Wiring looms are like hens teeth, then you'll probably end up with an ME7.1 loom, and have to modify it to take the wideband lambda etc as well.
    #17
  18. gmx
    Offline

    gmx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 30, 2012]
    I think that should be easy enough if it's like the transverse platform conversion too. Just add the pins for the WB to the ME7.5 ECU. Considering the placement of RHD ECU & the WB bung you could just put it completely in it's own loom instead of going over the trans and into the rest of the harness.

    Looking good, might go find me an APU parts car.
    #18
  19. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Sep 30, 2012]
    Eurodyne (Chris Tapp) do a drob in ME5 ECU (DBC) with a 630cc MAF driven file for AEB
    I got one for the build I had to sell

    I have just sold it back to some guy over there!

    The new Maestro version runs on ME7
    #19
  20. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,338
    Likes Received:
    421
    [Sep 30, 2012]
    I dont like the idea of these "one-for-all" files that the yanks seem to love. They're simply a compromise, brought about by a serious lack of proper custom vag tuners in the states. Theres really no need to use them in the UK as theres a number of decent tuners over here that will sort you a file properly tuned to the cars equipment.

    If your going to mess with Maestro, you might as well just do some reading and tune the ECU properly with the knowledge/info thats available on the likes of Nefmoto. This is what i plan to do hence switching to ME7.
    #20
  21. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 2, 2012]
    dont see the problem.
    its flow based. fuelling based on airflow and boost

    doubt most tuners will get any more out of you car just because you are running a 3" cat back vs a 2.75" or a big plenum Inlet mani vs stock
    #21
  22. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,338
    Likes Received:
    421
    [Oct 2, 2012]
    No, but individual setups are all different. It could be anything from an GT2860 to a 3076 and they're all running on the same file... Ignition timing cant be anywhere near optimised, fuelling will have to be really rich to keep things safe, and boost control will be non existent meaning more cash wasted on external boost control. Plus M3.8/5.x cant see boost, it bases everything on MAF and calculates boost/load using a model, so again more fuzzyness and guesswork.

    Even running my slightly larger than stock K04 on my car with the stock K03 tune doesnt run perfectly, It runs well enough, but not perfectly, so how can you suggest the same tune can run a whole range of massive turbos just based on flow and get the best from them.

    Its a bodge. Its not done in the UK because there are folk here who can tune your car properly (although granted, some of them are ****e!) and produce a map tailored to your cars exact spec.
    #22
  23. gmx
    Offline

    gmx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 2, 2012]
    Agreed

    JCB, did your car ever run?


    Maestro is also available for ME5 but in a very limited form.
    There's so much more programming possible to do with ME7+
    #23
  24. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 3, 2012]
    no, unfortunately not.
    I had to sell the engine/parts or risk losing my house!

    gutting but I had no choice. another day
    #24

Share This Page