Advice on saving 2.8 30v B5 from the scrap man

grahams81

Reaction score
Hello to everyone, i'm a newbie here.... go easy

To cut a long story short I've been offered a free car by someone who i rent a flat off while I'm away with work.... It was a family car, been in their family for the last 14 years.... gradually replaced until being parked up around 18 months ago.

The family got offered £200 quid for scrap for it and just decided to leave it parked up, until i asked what they were doing with it..... she said she'd like to get rid of it but not scrapped and if i wanted it - it's mine for free.

I'm no stranger to VAG motors (i'm currently building a 4wd Big Turbo Seat Leon) so i know my way around a set of spanners.
I'm thinking of saving the car from the scrap man, and hopefully using it as a family car, or a future big turbo project.... you never know.

The condition of the car is brilliant, no rust... the interior looks like new. It's spent its life at the audi main dealers so i'm hoping its been well looked after.
The only downside is the seals around the front and rear windscreen have corroded and split.

I'm thinking new discs & pads, possibly timing belt.

Picture of the car -

IMG_1374_zpszgt3uhkq.jpg

So what else do i need to watch out for / check on these ?

Many Thanks for advice,
Graham.

not majorly clued up on the V6 lump but I would check the rear diff seals, oil level in the rear diff. if there's any noise from the rear it could be rear bearings. rear calipers are a pig for siezing up but youll know this as every other vag car with rear calipers is the same.

looks clean in the picture.. get it saved!!

Reactions: PAULF
Thanks mate, really appreciate the tips.

LOL And yeh i know the rear callipers very well :disappointed:

Thanks

the v6 is a pretty reliable lump tbh, what exactly is wrong with it that she was going to scrap it?!

The "seals" you mention arent seals at all, they're just alloy trims that finish the top edge of the glass.