1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice on fitting new instrument cluster / Vagcom in North East?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by cooltempo, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. cooltempo
    Offline

    cooltempo Heavy DERV clatter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 30, 2010]
    Im fitting a new instrument cluster due to a demon rattle coming from the dash that stops when I hold the current ones cover, its driving me nuts.

    I'm gathering I need to recode it if I get one? Is there anyone in the North East with Vagcom that could help me that knows how to do this? Any advice appreciated.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. robby
    Offline

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 1, 2010]
    Have you removed the current one? it maight be a clip isn't located properly or you could use some clear silicone, etc around the edge if it is the front loose

    I'd try some tape, velcro around the dash so the cluster is a tighter fit 1st before buying a new cluster
    #2
  4. iconoclast
    Offline

    iconoclast New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 1, 2010]
    you will have to recode to match ecu etc. are you going to upgrade to the 09+ cluster at the same time?
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 1, 2010]
    Just take it out & fix the rattle, sorry but to change the cluster for a rattle is just pure laziness, you sure the cluster is bolted in tight as it has 2 bolts hidden behind the lower trim that sits in front of the cluster & if you do swap it, just goto a dealer, its a £40 job.
    #4
  6. cooltempo
    Offline

    cooltempo Heavy DERV clatter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 1, 2010]
    hi there... thanks for all the replies.... Ive already taken it out, taken it apart, put tape around it, tightened up the bolts etc. Done everything I can and it still rattles. its a bit strange. wouldn't just replace it without trying all other options first !! and I aint lazy thanks ;)

    I'll def try to surround it with velcro tape so its a tighter fix before I do anything else. Just rang a local audi specialist and they say its a dealer job as they have to grab the data thats on it before the new one can be recoded.

    Is an '09 upgrade doable, I thought there was some issues there?
    #5
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 1, 2010]
    & yes we have to ask silly questions if you've done stuff already or not, cause believe or not these things do get missed by every level of car owner lol.

    Have you removed it so it sits above the steering column & driven to see if it still rattles, wondering if its something knocking against cluster from underneath/behind.

    Also guessing you've shaken it to see if it has something loose inside.

    Are there any broken clips round the backend of the cluster, screws missing etc etc..

    09 is 100% possible as I did it & wrote a long thread on it aswell, yours is 06 so alot easier, no need for extra pump wire & new pump.
    #6
  8. cooltempo
    Offline

    cooltempo Heavy DERV clatter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 1, 2010]
    I understand ;) I appreciate people taking the time to ask at all to be honest.

    I haven't driven around with it off, I was a little worried about that to be fair could try it though. There seemed to be a very slight rattle when i shook it, I tried to dismantle it but they dont come apart that easily really, so gave up before I broke it. All screws and clips seemed to be fine, although I managed to break the lever type clip during reassembly, was very annoyed with myself. Everything worked fine though and some tape is ensuring nothing comes away. wil have to replace that at some point. I may go in again and take another look today and see what I can do.

    I just hate rattles, they really are annoying enough to make me take my car apart! ;) im sure most people on here are the same. takes the edge off the drive for me.
    #7
  9. cooltempo
    Offline

    cooltempo Heavy DERV clatter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 1, 2010]
    Ok so I took a break from my work and...

    - removed the cluster.
    - took it apart
    - lightly glued the silver dial surrounds to secure them
    - checked for rattles
    - reassembled
    - applied soft velcro tape around rim
    - refitted and tightened.

    then went for a drive and it seemed to be fixed ... but then it returned after some time, always at low speeds. pressure to the speedo plastic seems to stop as before. very strange.

    i think the only option is a new cluster? and recode. there is one on ebay for £40 and you think the recode is £40 as well? £80 for a rattle seems a touch steep ;) but cant see another option really.
    #8
  10. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 1, 2010]
    If you are using a 2nd hand cluster, your mileage will need to be changed also. Delaers wont do this on a cluster that is 2nd hand.The £40 will only be to swap and code the new cluster. I believe this is the case, But I havent done it myself yet to confirm

    That will be another cost you will have to pencil in
    #9
  11. cooltempo
    Offline

    cooltempo Heavy DERV clatter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 1, 2010]
    thanks for this info, might be worth giving Tyneside Audi a call to see what they will / wont do with a s/h cluster then.
    #10
  12. iconoclast
    Offline

    iconoclast New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 1, 2010]
    so what is the end-result? did you have this done?
    #11
  13. cooltempo
    Offline

    cooltempo Heavy DERV clatter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 1, 2010]
    no not yet, had my eye on a 2nd hand cluster that was £40 but missed it... was a bit worried that audi wouldnt code the mileage etc. so at the minute im just putting up with the rattle. wish i knew someone that could code the mileage.

    anyone had this done?
    #12
  14. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 1, 2010]
    Plenty of people around the country that can do mileage correction, Ben@shark does it iirc dependent on year of cluster that is.
    #13
  15. cooltempo
    Offline

    cooltempo Heavy DERV clatter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 2, 2010]
    thanks for the info.... anyone in the north east you know of mate?
    #14

Share This Page