1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice on changing clutch switch?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by AndymacA4, Jun 26, 2009.

  1. AndymacA4
    Offline

    AndymacA4 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 26, 2009]
    Hi, Re: Previous post, my cruise control died recently, I've been advised that the most likely cause is a stuffed clutch switch, I've got on ordered from Audi, due tomorrow.

    I talked to HazzyDayz about it, they advised that if in-correctly installed the switch would break, anyone know a method of fitting a new clutch switch? A guide would be good, or just advice!

    Cheers

    Andy
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. J7USS
    Offline

    J7USS Shuddup Foooool!!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 26, 2009]
    Ive done a few of these, dead easy to fit..when you get the switch, if the long pin hasnt already been pulled right out then gently pull it out till it stops, its on like a rachet mechanism so when you install it, your Clutch pedal needs to be pressed down so it dont disrupt the pin whilst installing it. Once you have fitted it, you release the pedal gently so it presses in the pin to find its own level.

    The actual fitting is easy enough but dont be too heavy handed, take note of how your old one comes out and you cant go wrong. You'll insert the whole Switch and turns clockwise to fit in - doesnt turn full circle though, id say 1/4. You'll feel/hear the click and thats it, its in place!!

    I changed mine to get rid of the "holding Revs" issue and has worked everytime.
    #2
  4. AndymacA4
    Offline

    AndymacA4 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 27, 2009]
    All done now, the clutch switch was £12.41 from Audi Peterborough, changed it in the car park there. Pressed the two latches to remove the wiring loom from the old switch, 45 degree twist anti-clockwise, wiggled it out, then pulled out the black plunger on the new one all the way. With no pressure on the clutch, slipped the new one into the hole, it ratcheted in, then a 45 degree twist clockwise, plugged in the wiring and off we go. The rev surge as you dip the clutch to change gear has gone, and the cruise control works again.

    I had a chat with the parts guy and he said as long as he'd worked in Audi parts (he didn't specify, but I assume a while) he had sold 2 others of that part. He suggested the brake switch is a more common fault.

    Anyway, anyone with a surge in revs at gear change, which makes swift progress through the gears a little lurchy this is the fix. Well worth it at the price. Mine was ordered Thursday evening, and in today (Saturday)


    Andy
    #3
  5. J7USS
    Offline

    J7USS Shuddup Foooool!!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 27, 2009]
    I posted this solution about 2yrs ago and its amazing the amount of Audi drivers have put up with this "Holding Revs" for ages until they find out about this clutch switch!
    #4
  6. lutek1000
    Offline

    lutek1000 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 3, 2012]
    update on price £14.47 Audi Nottingham
    #5
  7. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Feb 3, 2013]
    You can test if it's the clutch switch / brake switch / both / neither using VCDS:

    The test: In VCDS, go to Engine, then measuring blocks, then change one of the measuring blocks to group 006 (cruise control monitoring): Screen grab, push the brake, screen grab, release the brake, press the clutch, screen grab. Compare results.

    If there is no change when you press the clutch / brake, then that is the switch that is broken.


    #6
  8. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Feb 4, 2013]
    That said, ice just replaced my clutch switch, so now that is working and NOW in getting the brake switch errors.
    #7

Share This Page