1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adjusting handbrake

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by vetch, Jan 23, 2010.

  1. vetch
    Offline

    vetch S3

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 23, 2010]
    Alright folks, I havent been on in a while, I havent driven the S3 much actually, been using my daily hack for 99% of my driving in the shitty weather.

    Anyway, the search fucntion doesnt seem to be working for me, so can anyone tell me how the handbrake is adjusted on the S3? The handbrake is rather high at the moment!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 23, 2010]
    First remove the rear ashtray to access the adjusters.

    Then you have a couple of methods. First (and official) method is to tighten the cable adjuster nuts at the handbrake end until the handbrake lever arms at the rear wheels are just lifted off of their stops. (maximum distance 3mm). Do this with the handbrake off.

    Second method is to jack up the rear of the vehicle and support it so you can spin the rear wheels by hand. From the rest position pull the handbrake up by 2 or 3 clicks. Then tighten the adjusters until you can't move the wheels by hand.

    In each case you should check the wheels turn freely with the hand brake off.

    If you reach the end of the adjustment and the handbrake is still functioning incorrectly, then the cables have stretched and need replacing.
    #2
  4. vetch
    Offline

    vetch S3

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 23, 2010]
    HTC, thanks for that. Much obliged.:thumbsup:
    #3

Share This Page