1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adaption with VAG-COM

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by metricspaces, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. metricspaces

    metricspaces Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    2
    Would anyone have details on how to carry out adaption using VAG-COM?

    I understand that the ECU "learns" certain values over time, and with adaption it is possible to reset these values so that the ECU can "learn" them again.

    I recently got a remap, and it was suggested that carrying out adapation with VAG-COM would be a good idea.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Westy

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    I dont know about doing it using VAGCOM but I'm sure disconnecting the battery for an hour has the same effect.
     
  4. metricspaces

    metricspaces Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok, thanks. I'm pretty sure I heard somewhere that it can be done with VAG-COM. Anyone any info on this?
     
  5. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User Audi A4 quattro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,021
    Likes Received:
    395
    Just read your codes and clear them that can reset, or adaption 10 , channel 00 read, save.
     
  6. Westy

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    Mark. He's talking about putting the ECU back into learn mode.
     
  7. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User Audi A4 quattro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,021
    Likes Received:
    395
    That will reset the ECU to defaults mate. Says all reset to factory defaults afterwards
     
  8. metricspaces

    metricspaces Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    2
    Why would reading your codes and clearing them reset everything that the ECU learns?

    There is no module 10 (or named Adaption) available in the version of VAG-COM that I have...
     
  9. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User Audi A4 quattro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,021
    Likes Received:
    395
    sorry its engine, then adaption, then read save.

    And reading the codes and reseting them puts the ECU back into to learn mode, don't know why but it does
     
  10. metricspaces

    metricspaces Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks, I'll give that a go later!
     
  11. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,316
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    what version you using then?
     
  12. jm-baker

    jm-baker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    1
    Byzan A4 is corrrect. clearing the fault code, even if there aren't any, will reset your fuel adaption values. You can see this by viewing block [FONT=&quot]032 = [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Fuel adaption values, it will read zero once you do the "clear codes".
    [/FONT]
     
  13. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User Audi A4 quattro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,021
    Likes Received:
    395
    You can read codes no problems without resetting anything so do not worry about that. It's a little known feature
     

Share This Page