1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ACC Segments around speedo

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Silky-S3, Dec 11, 2013.

  1. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    315
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    Why is it you sometime get 2 lit up segments around the speedo when using ACC? I understand the higher one is the target speed buts what's the lower one for (that's not always there).
    #1
  2. moffe
    Offline

    moffe Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    59
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    hmm...could that be the speed of the car front of you? (if it's slower than you are driving or speed you want the acc to have)
    #2
  3. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    315
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    Don't think its that. It seems to be linked to pressing the set button.
    #3
  4. moffe
    Offline

    moffe Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    59
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    Ok...could it just be that when you set the speed its just between those segments? :) I'm just guessing here...
    #4
  5. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    315
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    I think it might when you set a speed that is not exactly on a segment. So it lights both of them next to each other.
    #5
  6. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    446
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    I know I can't wait to have ACC, my drive to Birmingham this morning was very tedious stop-go M6 traffic, a right PITA. Roll on March
    #6
  7. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,920
    Likes Received:
    829
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    Yep, it only happens when you first press set and the speed falls in between 2 of the values. Pressing the stalk up or down will choose one speed or the other.
    #7
    Silky-S3 likes this.
  8. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,920
    Likes Received:
    829
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    I think the standard cruise control allows you to pick speeds in 1mph increments, so would also show 2 segments when scrolling up or down, but ACC just changes the speed by 1 segment at a time instead (not really necessary to be so precise with it), so 2.5mph / 5mph depending on which part of the speedo you are on!
    #8
  9. mjcourtney
    Offline

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    324
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    Although the standard cruise control allows you to choose 1mph increments it doesn't have any leds or segments on the dials. It just displays your chosen speed in the DIS.
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2013
    #9
  10. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,920
    Likes Received:
    829
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    Ah, didn't know that!

    I'm sure I've seen the ACC LEDs set up so they do a 'sweep' alongside the needles before, wonder if you get this automatically with needle sweep, or if it's a different setting?
    #10
  11. mjcourtney
    Offline

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    324
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    I'm not sure I can see any LEDs around the speedo, so I wonder whether you get different clocks if you spec ACC over normal cruise?
    #11
  12. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    315
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    The LED are very visible. Also looks great when stageing at switch on! I bet they are different clocks.
    #12
  13. constvoid
    Offline

    constvoid Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    Which reminds me of a question which passed my mind a few days ago: Is the speedo on a car without ACC also non-linear? On an ACC speedo, the LED segments below 40 MPH occur at 2.5 MPH intervals, so the spacing between 30-40 on the dial is about twice that between 40-50. Is that true on the standard speedo too?
    #13
  14. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,920
    Likes Received:
    829
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    I would guess so - it's a property of the speedo rather than of the cruise control.
    #14
  15. JohnnyM100
    Offline

    JohnnyM100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    I can't remember where the increments step-change but the speedo on my standard cruise control car (non ACC) is not linear either.

    ...and confirming a previous post; no speedo LEDs just cruise control set speed displayed digitally in the DIS.

    John.
    #15

Share This Page