1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ac fault finding

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by tangerinedream, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. tangerinedream

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive just had my ac re gased as was not working and no sign of leaks, but when picked car up he says there was 690g of gas still in there and only meant to hold 760g so was more than enough to kick in ?????

    now i no thers no leaks im stuck why it don t work

    if i press the ac button the engine note definetly changes so i presume the clutch on the compressor is good ( thank god)

    is there any test i can do myself on ac unit etc or is it a case of throwing money and ope something sticks lol

    thinking ac pressure switch but can i check 1st????
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon Mod back in a "B"
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep Team V6 Team Silver Audi A6 Audi A4 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    163
    If the pressure switch was shot, the compressor wouldnt kick in.

    Have you actually looked at the compressor to see if the centre spins when you press the switch? (ie the clutch works..) as some systems increase the revs at idle so as to compensate for the extra load.
     
  4. tangerinedream

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    i havent yet mate i cant bare to take the front off again lol
     
  5. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,788
    Likes Received:
    205
    When the econ light is lit it means the air con is off ie for economy running. So when it's not lit the a/c should actually be on !
     
  6. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon Mod back in a "B"
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep Team V6 Team Silver Audi A6 Audi A4 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    163
    dont need to. you can look down from the engine bay and see it :icon_thumright:
     

Share This Page