1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ABS pump removal

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by thorsy22, Apr 1, 2009.

  1. thorsy22

    thorsy22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need to remove my ABS pump to remove my ABS controller, whats the best way to do this? Do I need any special tools?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. S3 chj

    S3 chj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    2
    remove your air box undo the brake lines un clip the wires and there should be 3 10mm bolts on top of the pump is a easy job to do if its the same as the a3
     
  4. thorsy22

    thorsy22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep stripped the airbox off already and there is indeed 3 bolts on top. Do I need to drain the brake fluid out so it doesn't leak everywhere? If so whats the best way to do this?

    Cheers
     
  5. S3 chj

    S3 chj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    2
    i just undone my break lines, once fitted the new one then re blead through the servo then the breaks
     
  6. thorsy22

    thorsy22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK sounds easy enough, did you lose much fluid then?
     
  7. S3 chj

    S3 chj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    2
    not a lot but make sure you got a full bottle of fluid to top up
     
  8. thorsy22

    thorsy22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will do but just a bit worried of losing too much fluid as need it off to tak the controller off the bottom and not to swap another pump unit but shouldnt be off too long. Want to change brake lines whilst I'm at it too.
    Probably get some cheap halfords stuff to flush then go motul600 or castrol srf
     
  9. S3 chj

    S3 chj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    2
    dont know if its true but in been told to use only audi fluid if your changing the lines you will prob need a lot of fluid
     
  10. thorsy22

    thorsy22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry ment hoses to goodridge ones. Didnt think it was that dependant on brake fluid. I think its the steering fluid that is reccommended to use only Audi fluid.
     

Share This Page