1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

a6 avant symphony with bose (no sound )

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by gtiboy, Feb 26, 2013.

  1. gtiboy

    gtiboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have an a6 2.5tdi avant with symphony and bose .
    The problem i am having is that the display on the head unit does not light up (but shows the radio in the dashboard binnacle )
    and also there is no sound from the speakers from the cd/tape or radio.
    Also it does not display safe so i can put the code in ?????
    I have checked all fuses and they are fine!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    38
    There are 2 fuses, one in the fusebox (Radio) and one on the back of the HU. Chances are the HU fuse has blown
    Is this the original HU or a replacement?
    If it's original it won't need the security code as it's coded to the car.
     
  4. gtiboy

    gtiboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have checked both uses and they are ok!
     
  5. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    38
    Was it working before or has something happened to cause the fault?
     
  6. gtiboy

    gtiboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    8
    its always worked but i had water ingress into the cabi.

    Took the head unit out yesterday and took it to a pal who deals with car audio .
    He has just phoned to tell me that the unit is dead due to water ingress (something has got the boards wet )
    OOOPPPPs !
    RIP head unit
     
  7. gtiboy

    gtiboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    8
    Had to purchase a new head unit from fleabay .
    All sorted plugged in coded and we have sound!
     

Share This Page