1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A6 Avant battery

Discussion in 'A6/S6/Allroad forum (C5 Chassis)' started by m3gsxr, Jan 4, 2010.

  1. m3gsxr
    Offline

    m3gsxr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 4, 2010]
    Hi Guys,any one had experiance of changing the battery on a 06 Advant 3.0 Tdi?
    Is this a main dealer process only,Ecu reprogramed to the new battery etc.
    As my local main dealer wants £154.00 + Vat for the labour alone.
    Thanks in advance.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. Cockney Boy
    Offline

    Cockney Boy Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jan 5, 2010]
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2010
    #2
  4. yendall24
    Offline

    yendall24 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jan 5, 2010]
    what next will the dealer come up with to TAKE YOUR MONEY very sad situation when you have to have a battery coded to your car
    #3
  5. m3gsxr
    Offline

    m3gsxr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 5, 2010]
    #4
  6. A6Ian
    Offline

    A6Ian New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 6, 2010]
    Are you sure? Why is this?

    I've disconnected mine several times without any problems. What possible interface has the battery got with the car apart from providing 12v.....?

    P.S Mine is also a 2006 Avant.

    Rgds
    #5
  7. singhl
    Offline

    singhl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 6, 2010]
    The car has a "battery manager" which controls the charging of the battery, it will start to shut down non essential parts of the car, should the battery start to fail. This is the device that needs to know the type of battery, so it knows what it is dealing with.

    As long as you get the same type (capacity) of battery and change it, there is no recoding to be done.

    Just go to euro car parts and get their recommended battery, replace it and you should be good to go.

    Why do you need to change it on an 06 car?

    I have a 05 3.0tdi quattro, and battery is as strong as ever, I had a problem with it going dead if left for a few days, turned out to be the radio not shutting down when car turned off, had to update the MMI software (which has an update to the radio in it) and never failed since. I remember the VARTA battery for my car was £150 odd at that time.

    If you have the same problem then changing battery will not fix it - if you need more info, let me know.
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2010
    #6
  8. A6Ian
    Offline

    A6Ian New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 6, 2010]
    That makes complete sense..... Cheers.

    Thought that might be the case that the car monitors the battery but the battery provides nothing but 12v.
    #7
  9. singhl
    Offline

    singhl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 6, 2010]
    Just out of curiosity - whats up with the battery?
    #8
  10. A6UYC
    Offline

    A6UYC milf

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 6, 2010]
    Sorry if i sound a bit dumb, if and when the battery needs to be replaced can i not just go and get a silver Bosch one and fit it my self.

    Sorry computer did not update and i did not see all responces......
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2010
    #9
  11. m3gsxr
    Offline

    m3gsxr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 11, 2010]
    Thanks for the advise,Battery will keep 100% charge if I use the car most days,But as I often drive other cars and the Audi can be sat in the garage for two or three weeks at a time it shows a very low charge and only just starts the car.
    Got a trade price from TPS for a new battery (with audi part no) of just under £100.00 plus Vat for a new one,so thought it maybe the orginal battery wasn't holding its charge.
    #10
  12. silverstealth
    Offline

    silverstealth Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 12, 2010]
    I would invest in a battery optimiser if i were you. Also, get the battery checked at least before u replace it. Otherwise, u might end up just having the same problem with the new battery, ie its not a battery fault but dodgy wiring somewhere or (as a prev poster said) an electrical item that is drawing current when it shouldnt.

    My 02 Allroad battery was a bit of a pig, as they all are due to audi putting battery at back of engine bay, but i just replaced it with a silver bosch job from halfords and alls tickety boo.
    #11
  13. singhl
    Offline

    singhl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 12, 2010]
    Do not change battery if you have sat nav and MMI software, it is the radio that does not turn off when you switch car off (even though screen goes off) the radio stay on and drains battery, as other car systems will not turn off also.

    MMI needs to be at version 5570.

    See http://forums.audiworld.com/showthread.php?p=22529554 and http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/3/13/883667/audi.tb.91-07-13.pdf.

    YOu will waste £100 on a battery which does not need replacing. The software can be got from the usual download places and updated yourself, just make sure a battery charger is connected to the car - or as I did leave car on whilst updating it.

    My car went dead on 3 ocassions updated it 8 months ago, and never failed since, the battery is now 6 years old. I left it at airport for 3 weeks and it started first time on my return
    #12

Share This Page