A4 Quattro S/S Exhaust Options

Reaction score
Morning all,

Im a newbie to this forum although I've been trawling on here for a wee bit.

I'm looking for some suggestions on a good S/S exhaust for my 1.8T QS. I was all set on a Milltek, but there seemed to be a lot of threads on here about how bad the fit was and it's put me off.

I was looking for something a bit special - In the past I've had an AC Schnitzer exhuast on an M3 and a really good Abbott Racing system on a Saab Aero, so I fancy something of similar quality. Obviously fit is very important here, so no rattling.

I see APR, Neuspeed and ABT do their own exhausts for Audis etc, does anyone on here have any experience of them?

Regards N

A mate and I fitted my Milltek and even though it was 2nd hand, we got it on fine. The only problem I can see with one is that the hanger bars are too wide, causing possible swaying from side to side producing knocking. We used cable ties to take up the slack to stop sideways movement. I have absolutely no complaints.
An exhuast can really only be as good as the fitter in my opinion, unless it is obviously made really badly.

You've had the same kind of cars as me in the past, i've flirted with a couple of BM's and just before my A4 I had a 9000 CS Carlsson with the 2.3T too - not quite an Aero but still v. quick!

Good luck and welcome mate.

Hi Jay, thanks for the welcome.

I agree with you with regards to the fitter, you just don't know how competent they are going to be. Thats why I wanted to try and minimise the potential for problems by trying to get something that fits as well as possible.

Im actually surprised at how hard it is to find retailors that provide full detailed exhaust applications for the old A4, if your not looking for Milltek or similar - only found one half decent one for supersprint and the ABT website lists everything in german, even when you select the english version lol. It was so much simpler with BMs.