1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A4 QS retrofit cruise control

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Thomas, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. Thomas
    Offline

    Thomas New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 16, 2005]
    Does anybody know if it is possible to retrofit cruise control to a 2000 A4 quattor sport (180bhp 1.8T engine)?
    Does anybody know of any companies in the UK that will do the fit fro me. Rang audi southampton and they said they couldn't.

    Cheers

    Davo
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 27, 2014]

  3. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Aug 16, 2005]
    Has I understand its easy for us, just fit stalk and have the the car VAGCOM.

    But I may be wrong.
    #2
  4. Thomas
    Offline

    Thomas New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 16, 2005]
    Hi Thats what Iv'e been reading for A3's and Golf MK IV. VAGCOM are you a company that can fit it?
    #3
  5. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Aug 16, 2005]
    VAGCOM is a software which allows you to link up to the car via a Laptop and change setting and rest faults as well as find them
    #4
  6. jdp1962
    Offline

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,048
    Likes Received:
    931
    [Aug 16, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Does anybody know if it is possible to retrofit cruise control to a 2000 A4 quattor sport (180bhp 1.8T engine)?
    Does anybody know of any companies in the UK that will do the fit fro me. Rang audi southampton and they said they couldn't.

    Cheers

    Davo

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Provided your car has a drive-by-wire throttle, which I would say is highly likely, being a 2000 model, Fontain Audi of Iver, in Bucks, will do it for £352, all -in. Fontain is an independent Audi specialist, one of the best in the country, if not THE best.

    Audi dealers won't do it, because the re-programming of the ECU to activate the CC software is seen by Audi UK as a hack. The only way the can do it is by replacing the ECU, which takes the bill into four figures.

    I took my car to Fontain last Friday (mine's a 1999 model 2.8V6) & their service is second to none. Here's a couple of useful links, one to the relevant page on Fontain's website, the other to the thread I posted on here three days ago.

    Fontain Link

    My Cruise Control Thread

    You cannot go wrong with this company. Phone first, and ask for Chas Lawlor.
    #5
  7. IainR
    Offline

    IainR New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 16, 2005]
    I've been looking into this for my A6 (which is definitely drive-by-wire).

    The bits are available from Vagparts (who haven't answered my email) and http://www.westecperformance.co.uk/ (who have!). I was going to do it myself, and borrow someone else's Vagcom, but I can't find a definitive list of what wiring I'll need /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    Anyway - if you can afford to get it done by a garage then Fontain sound like a very good option. Or Westec (as above) if you're nearer Newport, or AMD (www.amdtechnik.com) do it, too.

    Seems to be pretty much the same price (£299 +VAT) everywhere...

    Stalk and partial loom comes to about £50, so it's mainly labour I guess.
    #6
  8. jdp1962
    Offline

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,048
    Likes Received:
    931
    [Aug 16, 2005]
    Fontain reckons it takes about four & a half hours to fit. Their labour rate is £55 ph, plus VAT, so that works out about right. Their customer care is as good, if not better, than anything you'd get from an Audi dealer, even assuming the dealer was willing to fit the cruise in the first place.

    I could have had a courtesy car if I'd needed it. As it was, I didn't but they took me to Uxbridge & then collected me when the car was ready.
    #7
  9. jdp1962
    Offline

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,048
    Likes Received:
    931
    [Aug 16, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    I've been looking into this for my A6 (which is definitely drive-by-wire).

    The bits are available from Vagparts (who haven't answered my email) and http://www.westecperformance.co.uk/ (who have!). I was going to do it myself, and borrow someone else's Vagcom, but I can't find a definitive list of what wiring I'll need /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    Anyway - if you can afford to get it done by a garage then Fontain sound like a very good option. Or Westec (as above) if you're nearer Newport, or AMD (www.amdtechnik.com) do it, too.

    Seems to be pretty much the same price (£299 +VAT) everywhere...

    Stalk and partial loom comes to about £50, so it's mainly labour I guess.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Might be worth a call to Fontain to ask them if they'll sell you the kit on a supply-only basis. There is a thread somewhere on here that links to a step-by-step fitting guide for those brave enough to attempt it.
    #8
  10. IainR
    Offline

    IainR New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 16, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Might be worth a call to Fontain to ask them if they'll sell you the kit on a supply-only basis. There is a thread somewhere on here that links to a step-by-step fitting guide for those brave enough to attempt it.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Hmm... sounds like Fontain are definitely worth a call - thanks for pointing them out (and apologies for the partial thread hijack!).

    You A4 owners are so lucky, with your "How To" guides /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif (I'm not jealous honest - used to have an N plate A4 myself!). There doesn't seem to be any A6-specific info anywhere (heck, you can't even get a Haynes or Bentley manual for it /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif) The more I look into it the more I think I'd get a garage to do the whole thing (and at £300+ that makes it a "rainy day" thing LOL)

    (p.s. Vagparts have answered my email now, so I take it all back - they're lovely! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif)
    #9

Share This Page