1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A4 light switch from ebay

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by WOLF, Apr 29, 2013.

  1. WOLF
    Offline

    WOLF I am WOLF.......

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    269
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    Just recieved my new light switch from ebay.the old genuine is fine but scratched.Ive unplugged the old one by pushing/turning but when i plug the new one in the lights come on even in '0' position and cant turn them off............faulty switch or have i not followed some procedure?
    thanks
    steve
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 26, 2014]

  3. Ian-83
    Offline

    Ian-83 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    Sounds like a faulty switch.
    #2
  4. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,078
    Likes Received:
    558
  5. WOLF
    Offline

    WOLF I am WOLF.......

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    269
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    My thoughts too.....

    Right switch bez,same markings and same pins,im guesing faulty.
    #4
  6. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,078
    Likes Received:
    558
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    same part number ?
    #5
  7. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    as bez says

    wrong switch I did the same thing ages ago when I knew nothing about these cars and thought any would fit! it turned out the one I bought was for a A3 sport back
    #6
  8. Az
    Offline

    Az Hard slammed!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    Hmmm, I've just received (this morning) a mk4 golf headlight switch, the one with the chrome surround on the switch itself. I wonder if I'm gonna have the same issue?? Out of interest, to remove the original headlight switch, is it just a case of what you said, push and twist to remove from the dash? If so, which way do you twist it to release it please? I was under the impression I was going to have to remove the dash centre trim and lower part of the dash to get it out.
    #7
  9. WOLF
    Offline

    WOLF I am WOLF.......

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    269
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    Your on the ball mate,wrong switch according to part numbers......oh hell i'll have to return for the right one.
    cheers
    buddy.:icon_thumright:

    Just press in,turn to the right and pull:thumbsup:
    #8
  10. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,078
    Likes Received:
    558
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    hope he will swap it for you
    #9
  11. WOLF
    Offline

    WOLF I am WOLF.......

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    269
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    looking at the listing it states audi a4 b6 so possibily a bit mis-leading.Sent him a message so wait for his reply..........thanks again .
    #10
  12. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,940
    Likes Received:
    493
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    It's an easy swap as mentioned.

    People have used Golf switches before, from memory they worked ok, but they don't sit 'upright' in the same manner.
    #11
  13. Az
    Offline

    Az Hard slammed!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    Nice one cheers mate!
    #12
  14. Az
    Offline

    Az Hard slammed!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    Yep, I'm aware of that, when the golf switch is in the upright position it's on side lights, as aposed to our original switch which would be in the off position, but I'm cool with that, it's no biggie. :)
    #13
  15. WOLF
    Offline

    WOLF I am WOLF.......

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    269
    [May 2, 2013]
    Ive just bought the correct switch as i got the wrong one and the company wouldn't refund so ive just put the incorrect switch up for sale...ahh well.:redface:
    #14
  16. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,078
    Likes Received:
    558
    [May 2, 2013]
    whats the part number
    #15
  17. WOLF
    Offline

    WOLF I am WOLF.......

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    269
    [May 2, 2013]
    Part number for correct switch is 8EO 941 531A
    switch i ordered wrong is 8E0 941 531
    #16
  18. WOLF
    Offline

    WOLF I am WOLF.......

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    269
    [May 10, 2013]
    Just got my new replacement switch,works perfectly:salute:

    Still got the one i ordered wrong if anyone needs one.
    #17

Share This Page