1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A4 Head unit

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B8 Chassis)' started by rappernat, Feb 20, 2013.

  1. rappernat
    Offline

    rappernat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2013]
    Hi guys new here and just looking for some advice i will eplain things as best i can

    Right my mother inlaw has audi A4 estate 2011 reg (about all i know)

    It has a stereo and sat nav but for the sat nav to work you need to use a disc so she says, meaning she cant play cds,

    Now my question is

    Is there a solution to play cds and use the sav nav together,

    Or is the a AUX port any were on the head unit,

    Sadly thats all the information untill the 17th of march when shes down so i can sort it for her any heads up would be great ??
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 24, 2014]

  3. Soot1e
    Offline

    Soot1e Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 20, 2013]
    The navigation data can be copied from the Nav DVD onto an SD card (memory capacity of at least 8GB), enabling you to play an audio CD in the CD drive while the route function is active. With an SD card in either of the two slots, the DVD can be copied by selecting the NAV button, then SET UP and then scroll to "Copy navigation data".

    The copying process takes about an hour and whilst copying the MMI functions are not available. IIRC when I copied mine, I used a 16GB SD card rather than an 8GB as I read somewhere that some 8GB cards were not quite big enough.

    When completed leave the SD card in situ, remove the DVD and play your CDs as normal. The Nav will also load faster from the SD card.

    This procedure is also detailed in the MMI operating manual.
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2013
    #2
  4. rappernat
    Offline

    rappernat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2013]
    Woww soot1e your a life saver thanks for that is it that easy to do ??

    is the a ipod function on the car or would that all depend ??
    #3
  5. rappernat
    Offline

    rappernat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2013]
    also sounds stupid once the dvd has copied to the sd will if automatically read from the sd card or do you need to set it to read from sd card ?
    #4
  6. Soot1e
    Offline

    Soot1e Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 20, 2013]
    Yep, SD card in slot, put it to copy and off it goes. I did mine whilst driving from Norfolk to Humberside. Like watching a boiling kettle it goes on for ages but worth it in the end!
    #5
  7. Soot1e
    Offline

    Soot1e Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 20, 2013]
    The Nav will automatically read from the SD card, no other settings required.
    #6
  8. rappernat
    Offline

    rappernat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2013]
    Top stuff thanks so much that will make the evil mother inlaw happy :D
    #7
  9. Soot1e
    Offline

    Soot1e Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 20, 2013]
    The car maybe fitted with AMI in which case the Aux in socket will not be fitted. To check select Media and press the top RH button of the 4 surrounding the selector. This will provide the sources available to you. If is shows Aux the input socket is in the armrest, if it shows AMI the input socket is on the LHS of the glovebox and you will require an AMI lead to use an iPod.
    #8
    rappernat likes this.
  10. rappernat
    Offline

    rappernat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2013]
    would something like this be fine for speed transfer

    Just trying to find to the exact product to tell her to buy (she abit dumb)

    • 8GB capacity.
    • Read speed 5MB per sec.
    • Write speed 5MB per sec.
    #9
  11. rappernat
    Offline

    rappernat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2013]
    Thanks again i wont see the car till the 17th so i wont beable to check this till then but i will point her in the direction to find them to see if they are there
    #10
  12. Soot1e
    Offline

    Soot1e Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 20, 2013]
    #11
  13. Gray S
    Offline

    Gray S New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 21, 2013]
    Copying the CD to SD card in the car can fail and takes ages. Much easier to copy using your PC. You do need a 16GB card.
    #12
  14. rappernat
    Offline

    rappernat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 21, 2013]
    so is it 16gb or 8gb ???
    #13
  15. Gray S
    Offline

    Gray S New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 21, 2013]
    8gb does not work, you need a 16gb
    #14
  16. avant84
    Offline

    avant84 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 23, 2013]
    8gb is absolutely fine, did mine a couple of years back and had no problems.
    #15
  17. Gray S
    Offline

    Gray S New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 23, 2013]
    I tried an 8gb, but it didn't work on mine. It might depend on the Navigation DVD, mine is 2011
    #16

Share This Page