1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A4 DIS MPG problem

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Hedley88, Mar 3, 2011.

  1. Hedley88
    Offline

    Hedley88 Get some Nuts!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 3, 2011]
    Evening all

    this is my first thread on the forum so please be nice lol,

    I have tried searching for the problem with no luck so your help would be appriciated

    I have just recently bought a 53A4 Cab 3l Quattro and have to say I really like it. but I have a problem, the DIS instant MPG constantly shows 200mpg which means my average mpg is showing 200 as well and it tells me I have 1250 miles left even if I have a half a tank (I wish it was true)

    Thanks for you help

    Regards

    Dan
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Mar 3, 2011]
    Might be worth holding down the rectangular button under the right hand stalk to reset the trip computer readings and see if it recalibrates iteslf....
    #2
  4. Hedley88
    Offline

    Hedley88 Get some Nuts!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2011]
    Tried that a couple of times with no luck. Thanks for the reply tho
    #3
  5. Alan H
    Offline

    Alan H Need a V8 or Bi-Turbo.......

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 4, 2011]
    Is that memory 1 or memory 2?

    I can't reset one of the MPG figures on mine either.
    #4
  6. Dilligaf-UK
    Offline

    Dilligaf-UK Chugging along

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 4, 2011]
    Tried disconnecting the Battery to clear the memory?

    Bit drastic, but might work!
    #5
  7. Hedley88
    Offline

    Hedley88 Get some Nuts!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 6, 2011]
    Tried disconnecting the bat for 30mins and still didnt work, Any more ideas?
    #6
  8. Hedley88
    Offline

    Hedley88 Get some Nuts!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 10, 2011]
    Any body???
    #7
  9. audigeezA4
    Offline

    audigeezA4 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 18, 2011]
    Hi mate
    hi
    Have you got this sorted yet as I think I have a similar issue except my dis tells me my mpg is terrible?
    Would be good to know if and how you resolved as I am looking for a solution and it would be interesting to hear about your issues with this.
    Cheers.
    #8
  10. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,892
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Mar 18, 2011]
    I think there's a way of recalibrating the mpg useage through VAGcom, have you tried researching that? Maybe on the Rosstech website?
    #9
  11. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... . VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Mar 18, 2011]
    Scan your car with VAG-COM there may be a faulty fuel sensor of some description - should think it will show up under the Instrument Cluster module.

    Recalibration of mpg on DIS here
    Also worth checking what value you currently have stored in Channel 3 of the Instrument Cluster [Module 17] just in case a bad figure is messing up the displayed "mpg" value.
    #10
  12. audigeezA4
    Offline

    audigeezA4 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 18, 2011]
    thanks mate- i assume the vagcom is mainly carried by private garages and obviously the dealers- so i may have to hold on and either find someone who has one or get audi to check it on my next service. Fingers crossed it will be a simple case of just a reset or clearing the readings etc.

    cheers fo that.
    #11
  13. Dilligaf-UK
    Offline

    Dilligaf-UK Chugging along

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 19, 2011]
    VAGCOM or VCDS is mainly held by private individuals, with a vested interest in their cars (and saving money against Dealer prices!)

    If you go into the VCDS Forum on this site, you should see a link to a Map, showing who has access in your area - PM them for assistance and for a small donation, most people would be happy to help.

    I'm in North Kent if that's any help LOL
    #12
  14. audigeezA4
    Offline

    audigeezA4 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 19, 2011]
    Thanks dilligaf- north Kent- that's only 200+ miles from me- but I would be happy for you to help- of course- for a SMALL donation..... Lol.

    I will see whos in my area-Cheers mate.
    #13
  15. Hedley88
    Offline

    Hedley88 Get some Nuts!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 21, 2011]
    Thanks for all Ur help I will look to see if anyone has one in my area.

    Regards

    Dan
    #14
  16. Hedley88
    Offline

    Hedley88 Get some Nuts!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 21, 2011]
    Thanks for all Ur help I will look to see if anyone has one in my area.

    Regards

    Dan
    #15

Share This Page