1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A4 DIS MPG problem

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Hedley88, Mar 3, 2011.

  1. Hedley88

    Hedley88 Get some Nuts!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Evening all

    this is my first thread on the forum so please be nice lol,

    I have tried searching for the problem with no luck so your help would be appriciated

    I have just recently bought a 53A4 Cab 3l Quattro and have to say I really like it. but I have a problem, the DIS instant MPG constantly shows 200mpg which means my average mpg is showing 200 as well and it tells me I have 1250 miles left even if I have a half a tank (I wish it was true)

    Thanks for you help

    Regards

    Dan
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Cabbyfan

    Cabbyfan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    30
    Might be worth holding down the rectangular button under the right hand stalk to reset the trip computer readings and see if it recalibrates iteslf....
     
  4. Hedley88

    Hedley88 Get some Nuts!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried that a couple of times with no luck. Thanks for the reply tho
     
  5. Alan H

    Alan H Need a V8 or Bi-Turbo.......

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    7
    Is that memory 1 or memory 2?

    I can't reset one of the MPG figures on mine either.
     
  6. Dilligaf-UK

    Dilligaf-UK Chugging along

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tried disconnecting the Battery to clear the memory?

    Bit drastic, but might work!
     
  7. Hedley88

    Hedley88 Get some Nuts!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried disconnecting the bat for 30mins and still didnt work, Any more ideas?
     
  8. Hedley88

    Hedley88 Get some Nuts!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any body???
     
  9. audigeezA4

    audigeezA4 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi mate
    hi
    Have you got this sorted yet as I think I have a similar issue except my dis tells me my mpg is terrible?
    Would be good to know if and how you resolved as I am looking for a solution and it would be interesting to hear about your issues with this.
    Cheers.
     
  10. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,019
    Likes Received:
    532
    I think there's a way of recalibrating the mpg useage through VAGcom, have you tried researching that? Maybe on the Rosstech website?
     
  11. Woorlord

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... .
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    14
    Scan your car with VAG-COM there may be a faulty fuel sensor of some description - should think it will show up under the Instrument Cluster module.

    Recalibration of mpg on DIS here
    Also worth checking what value you currently have stored in Channel 3 of the Instrument Cluster [Module 17] just in case a bad figure is messing up the displayed "mpg" value.
     
  12. audigeezA4

    audigeezA4 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks mate- i assume the vagcom is mainly carried by private garages and obviously the dealers- so i may have to hold on and either find someone who has one or get audi to check it on my next service. Fingers crossed it will be a simple case of just a reset or clearing the readings etc.

    cheers fo that.
     
  13. Dilligaf-UK

    Dilligaf-UK Chugging along

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    1
    VAGCOM or VCDS is mainly held by private individuals, with a vested interest in their cars (and saving money against Dealer prices!)

    If you go into the VCDS Forum on this site, you should see a link to a Map, showing who has access in your area - PM them for assistance and for a small donation, most people would be happy to help.

    I'm in North Kent if that's any help LOL
     
  14. audigeezA4

    audigeezA4 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks dilligaf- north Kent- that's only 200+ miles from me- but I would be happy for you to help- of course- for a SMALL donation..... Lol.

    I will see whos in my area-Cheers mate.
     
  15. Hedley88

    Hedley88 Get some Nuts!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all Ur help I will look to see if anyone has one in my area.

    Regards

    Dan
     
  16. Hedley88

    Hedley88 Get some Nuts!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all Ur help I will look to see if anyone has one in my area.

    Regards

    Dan
     

Share This Page