1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A4 concert stereo system volume knob....

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Ozy1000, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. Ozy1000
    Offline

    Ozy1000 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I habe a dodgy volume knob on my A4 ( 53 ) plate, when you go to turn it up, you have to be very careful, or it turn s back down to 0, any ideas?....
    #1
  2. crazy88
    Offline

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,807
    Likes Received:
    391
    I am not sure if this will work, but well worth a try. When the stereo is off, turn the knob quite fast in both directions, almost being a little rougher than normal. Sometimes the contacts can go funny, as they're hardly used and this may remove any tarnish type effect it has had. It used to happen on an old stereo of mine all the time, and this always cured the problem for a week or so, lol.

    However, this may not work :p
    #2
  3. mikeh126
    Offline

    mikeh126 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have the same on my Concert II. If the volume control is turned up quickly, it reduces in volume!
    I think, (and i may be wrong), that it's supposed to do that. The only way to turn it up, is move the volume knob slowly.
    I must admit - it's an annoying feature. I presume it does that so the volume can't be accidentally turned to 'mega' decibels, and deafen everybody.
    I wish I could disable the feature, though.
    #3
  4. crazy88
    Offline

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,807
    Likes Received:
    391
    Oh, I think I may have misunderstood then, lol! Yeah, that's a kindof cool, but annoying feature then isn't it?! Kindof like the low washer warning...good for a while, but annoying when it won't shut up.
    #4
  5. BigAardvaark
    Offline

    BigAardvaark Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not a "feature" unfortunately, a common issue. Try Crazy's tip, maybe see if you can get some contact cleaner or IPA in there at the same time but I fear your button is just knackered.
    #5
  6. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,885
    Likes Received:
    475
    I've heard of this before, as mentioned it's sadly not a feature, more of a fault!!

    I think the HU can be sent off for repair, or else replaced. Maybe someone like Andymac can advise better.
    #6
  7. mikeh126
    Offline

    mikeh126 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    1
    Apologies - I thought it was a "feature", and not a fault. I'll try crazy88's tip - and see if it works.
    Thanks to all for the info.
    #7
  8. mikeh126
    Offline

    mikeh126 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, bless my soul!!!
    Did, as crazy88 suggested - with the unit switched off, moved the volume knob fast in both directions - and, surprise, surprise - the control is working perfectly now!
    The question is - for how long, though?
    Answers on a postcard. . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . .
    #8

Share This Page