1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A4 CD Changer - Glove Box

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by imported_Coullio, Mar 22, 2005.

  1. imported_Coullio
    Online

    imported_Coullio Guest

    [Mar 22, 2005]
    I am looking at the CD Changers on ebay for my Audi A4. Do you need to have a certain type of glove box. My glove box has the compartments at the top for the Changer, so will it fit?? I checked and there are holes there for cables. So any help would be grateful
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. a4sline
    Offline

    a4sline Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 22, 2005]
    To fit the changer properly you'll need the glove box that was made for the changer, as the changer locks into the cutout in the top.
    Audi didn't fit the lead for the glovebox mounted changer except if the changer was factory fit, sorry.
    HTH
    #2
  4. imported_Coullio
    Online

    imported_Coullio Guest

    [Mar 22, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    To fit the changer properly you'll need the glove box that was made for the changer, as the changer locks into the cutout in the top.
    Audi didn't fit the lead for the glovebox mounted changer except if the changer was factory fit, sorry.
    HTH

    [/ QUOTE ]

    My glove box has the cutout at the top, it actually has two. Does anyone have a photo of a glove box with the CD fitted so I can compare. I was told by the Audi Dealer that there is no need to change the glove box, but now I am unsure.
    #3
  5. imported_Coullio
    Online

    imported_Coullio Guest

    [Mar 23, 2005]
    I have decided to buy myself a iPod as I know it will fit in the glove box.
    #4
  6. JohnBoy
    Offline

    JohnBoy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 23, 2005]
    and be better value!!
    #5
  7. gizze
    Offline

    gizze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 23, 2005]
    I hated my ipod, the track names are too big for the display, complete pain in the arse, and there is an annoying gap between mixes on dance cds.

    Oh and they sound like /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/swear.gif! However there is someone who has converted them to give a digital out, I will find the link.
    #6
  8. tboy
    Offline

    tboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 23, 2005]
    my Ipod sounds awesome!!?!

    I've used the Dension Icelink and cradle to connect it up. As it's not using the headphone jack or an FM signal to transmit it has perfect lineout quality. I now have over 3000 tunes to pick, and my Ipod is only half full. Trouble is I don't know which tune to listen to /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif

    Total cost:
    20Gb Ipod: £200
    Dension Icelink (inc cradle): £99
    Proclip (cradle mount): £15

    So all in much much better value than an autochanger, and a damn sight more usefull! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/1luvu.gif
    #7
  9. gizze
    Offline

    gizze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 24, 2005]
    Sorry, didn't mean to offend anyone. Yeah I had the dension Icelink as well, but I just think the ipod sounds terrible, problem is I have Bose in my car, and both the ipod and the Bose are too harsh sounding.

    If I get round to changing the sound system I may try the ipod again. But I have the SD cards in the Nav+ and the sound improvement over the ipod is in a different league.
    #8
  10. imported_ronny
    Online

    imported_ronny Guest

    [Apr 4, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    I must say that I had a courtesy A4 with Bose in it for a day and I thought that the standard symphony in my A4 sounded mush nicer and more mellow... No doubt some expert will define me as a complete numpty...

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I agree with you, the B6 standard setup with sub under rear shelf and a concert CD player is a killer combo and It is one of the best standard fit stereos I have ever heard, loads of base, nice trebble I would like more trebble for people in the back though.
    #9
  11. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 5, 2005]
    I have a glovebox cd changer I may sell if someone makes me a good offer!...
    #10
  12. arthurfuxake
    Offline

    arthurfuxake Controversial & Contradictive

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2005]
    You have a pm.
    #11
  13. dstech
    Offline

    dstech Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 7, 2005]
    Mine is for sale now too.
    #12
  14. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 7, 2005]
    If you didnt have to buy the glovebox, it would be a great cheap upgrade certainly still not the £400 odd quid it costs to add it from the factory.
    #13
  15. arthurfuxake
    Offline

    arthurfuxake Controversial & Contradictive

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 17, 2005]
    Right, I've picked up a cd changer, and have ordered the glovebox and cable from Audi. I have a bluetooth car kit fitted at the moment that mutes the stereo when a call comes in, and am now concerned that the cable from the changer to the head unit will interfere with this. Also, how do I swap the lock over from my glovebox to the new glovebox?
    #14
  16. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 17, 2005]
    the lead will not interfere. Its a different connector usually
    You will need to plug the free pins on the lead into the vacant holes on the connector but read it carefully since you really only have one chance at shoving the pins in!...

    The connector going vertically is the one with the mute connection, and the one at the bottom horizontally contains the connection for the cd.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    #15
  17. arthurfuxake
    Offline

    arthurfuxake Controversial & Contradictive

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 17, 2005]
    Thanks mate, I pick up the glovebox and cable tomorrow. Watch this space, I'll make a DIYer out of myself yet.
    #16
  18. arthurfuxake
    Offline

    arthurfuxake Controversial & Contradictive

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 18, 2005]
    Do I need to disconnect the power from the radio unit, coz I haven't got the code and don't feel like a trip to the dealer for it?
    #17
  19. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 18, 2005]
    No you dont
    #18

Share This Page