1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A4 Cabriolet Roof (2003) not working - not the usual problem

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Thedeanmanning, Apr 16, 2014.

  1. Thedeanmanning
    Offline

    Thedeanmanning New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 16, 2014]
    Hi all,
    This is my first post after buying my 2003 Audi A4 convertible. I have a 2.4 petrol version.

    The car is awesome although the electric roof has recently stopped working. Unlike all of the other posts I have researched, the roof does not start to move at all. In fact the roof does not unlock the latches.

    I have tried manually opening and closing the roof on numerous occasions in order to reset it, but it has had no effect.
    I have also tried cleaning the motor as shown on one of the posts. It was dirty but again had no effect. Whilst there I studied the hydraulic fluid level and that is where it should be. I have cleaned all of the latches and sensors (that i can see), but still no joy.

    When i switch the engine on the roof operation light on the dash flashes for approximately 5 seconds. When i press the switch for the roof i can hear some kind of electric activation at the rear on the drivers side, i get the roof operation light on the dash, but nothing happens. The windows dont even open slightly as required when the switch is activated. My windows and everything else on the car works as normal.

    From looking at the posts i assume i will have to purchase a VAGCOM. I would like to know which one would be the best or will any Audi one do to get the correct codes? Has anyone else had the same problem? Could it be a fuse or anything similar?

    Thanks in advance for your time..

    Dean
    #1
  2. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17,855
    Likes Received:
    3,063
    [Apr 16, 2014]
    Hi dean, welcome to audi-sport.net. We have a vcds user map with members from the forum who will scan your car for you. :) x
    #2
  3. morrisonbrink
    Offline

    morrisonbrink Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Apr 16, 2014]
    Dean, you need to speak to VagPro, have a look at this thread- http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/audi-s...et-soft-top-roof-hood-motor-repair-guide.html

    Very helpful guy
    #3
    Thedeanmanning likes this.
  4. Thedeanmanning
    Offline

    Thedeanmanning New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 16, 2014]
    Thanks guys. Will take a look
    #4
  5. Thedeanmanning
    Offline

    Thedeanmanning New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 16, 2014]
    That's the link I followed to clean the motor... I will contact him and see what he says. Seems THE man to go to for advice!!
    #5
  6. Thedeanmanning
    Offline

    Thedeanmanning New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 16, 2014]
    Thanks Sandra.. Trying to PM members now. Appreciate that
    #6
    Sandra likes this.
  7. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17,855
    Likes Received:
    3,063
    [Apr 16, 2014]
    #7
    Thedeanmanning likes this.
  8. VagPro
    Offline

    VagPro Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Apr 16, 2014]
    Hi Dean,

    The article on the motor clean is for when the roof lifts a couple of of inches and that's it, mostly common on the facelift model. Also it is imperative to pry open the brush carriers, allowing the brushes to move freely and to ensure they make contact with the commutator.

    From the description of your problem, there are two possibilities:

    1) if the windows drop down when you press the roof open button, if could be the top lock motor


    2) if the windows don't drop down when you press the button. You have an implausible switch position fault and this will have to be interrogated via the Measuring Blocks in VCDS.

    Have you managed to get access to VCDS yet ?

    Regards
    Khurrum
    #8
    Thedeanmanning likes this.
  9. Thedeanmanning
    Offline

    Thedeanmanning New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 16, 2014]
    Thanks for getting back to me so quickly. It's a nightmare with all this good weather for a change!

    Looks like it would be problem number 2 as the windows do not drop upon pressing the switch. I have messaged a couple of local people from the VCDS map and am awaiting their response.

    when I do plug it in, is it something I can simply reset via the laptop?

    Ps. Thanks for the post.. Checked the brushes as well as the motor just to be sure
    #9
  10. morrisonbrink
    Offline

    morrisonbrink Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Apr 16, 2014]
    See what I mean Dean?
    #10
    Thedeanmanning likes this.
  11. Thedeanmanning
    Offline

    Thedeanmanning New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 16, 2014]
    Thanks :thumbsup: top man
    #11
  12. VagPro
    Offline

    VagPro Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Apr 16, 2014]
    Hi Dean,

    No worries at all, I just can't believe how limited the main dealer knowledge is on this subject !

    Firstly make sure the Top Lock and Storage Compartment Lock are locked all the way, if you need the manual operating instructions, these can be found under Resources on my site. After locking everything operate the roof, if nothing happens then proceed below....

    When you plug in to VCDS, firstly you will go in to Auto Roof, Fault Codes and will probably find a number of codes, save the codes, clear them, try opening the roof and see what re-appears. Chances are it will be 02000 Switch Position - Implausible Signal. If this is the case then go in to Measuring Blocks, Group 1 and compare the values against

    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index.php/Audi_A4_(8E)_Automatic_Roof

    If it is a switch, this will help identify which one it is. Once you know this, post the results on here and we will take it from there.

    See how you get on with the user map for VCDS, I have met the guys from Gwent VW (who are in Newport) at the GTI international and they seem pretty cool, a guy called Shak has helped me out in the past.

    P.S. Morris: Thank you for your kind words.
    #12
    Thedeanmanning likes this.
  13. Thedeanmanning
    Offline

    Thedeanmanning New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 16, 2014]
    Awesome. Can't thank you enough! Will let you know how I get on. Thanks again
    #13
  14. Thedeanmanning
    Offline

    Thedeanmanning New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 22, 2014]
    Still waiting for someone to get back to me about the VCDS. Thinking of just buying one now as I'm getting impatient. Any suggestions??
    #14
  15. VagPro
    Offline

    VagPro Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Apr 22, 2014]
    Hi, have a chat with NHN on the forum, I believe he sells the leads, you can get cheap ones on eBay but I am not sure about the functionality, you need to be able to read the Measuring Block Values. Did you contact Gwent VW? Alternatively how do you fancy a drive to Leicester? (had someone from Cardiff here over the weekend !)

    Regards
    Khurrum
    #15
  16. VTS4
    Offline

    VTS4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 22, 2014]
    Hello- I'm having some of the same issues with the top on my 2004 S4:

    History:

    Roof leaks at back window. Tried to open top after some rain, stopped working before the rear compartment closed. Was able to still get it to attempt to open/ close for a bit without it being able to complete either task. Manually opened / closed numerous times.

    1: Accessed the hydraulic unit and cleaned. Brushes were not stuck. All looked good. Still nothing.
    2: All blocks/ position are correct when opened / closed manually.
    3: The error I get is 01618 and 01984: solenoid valves open or shorted (2) solenoid valves open or shorted.
    4: No power being supplied to the motor, activation switch being seen correctly.
    5: All (3) solenoids ohm out at 11.2 ohms.
    6: I have tried unplugging all (3) solenoids and operating the top- still get the same 2 errors (01618 and 01984). I would expect to get another for the 3rd solenoid.

    I suspect the controller for the top has failed- any advice on further troubleshooting would be greatly appreciated.
    #16
  17. VagPro
    Offline

    VagPro Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Apr 22, 2014]
    Hi,

    Wonder if you have any water ingress into the hydraulic pump or control unit area ? I recently had to change a control unit due to water.

    1) sticky brushes mainly on B7

    2) Good stuff, very few people know how to check the MBV's

    4) Yes you won't get power to motor as you have error codes present.

    3) Have a look on my forum post at the wiring diagrams and carry out a continuity check from the control unit to solenoid valves to control unit. Very important to also check that the earth points are ok, I have come across a loose earth before. (Check the last few pages on the link below)

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/audi-s...et-soft-top-roof-hood-motor-repair-guide.html

    If the above fail, where are you ? I have a few spare controllers you can use to test.

    Regards
    Khurrum
    www.audiconvertiblespecialist.co.uk
    #17
  18. VTS4
    Offline

    VTS4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 22, 2014]
    Thanks for the quick reply and the links..... I'll check everything out and let ya know what I find.
    #18
  19. VTS4
    Offline

    VTS4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 23, 2014]
    VagPro-
    I live I Bennington, Vermont, USA so I doubt the spare controller offer still stands! :)

    What were the symptoms of the controller that you had to replace due to water damage? I assumed I would see a no comm error if the controller were bad but everything reads back correctly.

    I should add that the roof doesn't unlatch now when trying to open from a closed position. Is this due to the immediate solenoid error or does it point to the controller?

    The controller is located under the rear seat, right?

    Thanks again...
    #19
  20. VagPro
    Offline

    VagPro Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Apr 23, 2014]
    The water damaged controller had an error code saying control module error. Same fault codes on a B7 in Australia, solution below.

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/audi-s...soft-top-roof-hood-motor-repair-guide-11.html

    Look at #401 and #402

    Regards
    Khurrum
    #20
  21. Thedeanmanning
    Offline

    Thedeanmanning New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 23, 2014]
    Thanks VAGPRO. Gwent VW didn't get back to me. I'm sure it will be easier and cheaper just to make a trip to Leicester.. Probably work out to be a cheaper fix too. I will PM you if that's ok to arrange.
    Thanks again Dean
    #21
  22. VTS4
    Offline

    VTS4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 23, 2014]
    Thanks Khurrum-
    I had read that entire post and was thinking I had the same exact issues as AuAudiA4...same error codes (01618 & 01984) with everything else checking out good.

    Issues that make me think it's the controller:
    1: With the top manually closed, all blocks reading correctly, all codes cleared, attempt to open with switch, error codes 01618 & 01984 (at this stage only F2 and F3 are energized, 01618 is for valve F1). Front does not unlatch.

    2: With the top manually opened, all blocks reading correctly, All codes cleared, attempt to open with switch, error codes 01618 & 01984. At this stage F1 and F2 are energized, so the error codes would be possible as 01618 and 01984 are for valves F1 and F2 (272 and 341, respectively). Rear compartment does not unlatch.

    3: Disconnecting all (3) solenoids results in the same 2 error codes, no matter if attempting to open or close.

    I'll be performing the continuity check from solenoid to controller tonight and let you know what I find but I don't expect to find any issues with the harness.....I almost hope to see some water damage evident on the controller when I get to it!
    #22
  23. VagPro
    Offline

    VagPro Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Apr 23, 2014]
    Good luck, I would be inclined to check the loose earth connections AuAudiA4 mentions first before the the continuity check. Let me know how you get on.

    Regards
    Khurrum
    #23
  24. VTS4
    Offline

    VTS4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 23, 2014]
    Will do! Where are these ground connections located? I'm aware of one near the amp/ hydraulic unit- is this one of them?

    Also, would it be possible for you to forward the procedure for accessing the top controller....I read that you have to remove the rear seat and driver side rear cover....any more to it than that?

    On another note...I was pretty lucky in my ebay quest and found both a hydraulic unit and controller very cheap. Both are on the way....figure I'll keep the good component for spares/ troubleshooting if I need it in the future!!
    #24
  25. VagPro
    Offline

    VagPro Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Apr 23, 2014]
    Hi,

    Earth Point: Check the wiring diagram on the previous link I sent you, AuAudiA4 says "he relay didn't have good connections in to the relay harness. One of the was almost lose. Bending the fingers of the relay and that did the trick. It all works." So to me it seems though its the actual plugs to the relay, but there no harm is giving the 202 earth connection an additional earth point.

    Roof control unit: Just remove bench seat, remove bolt and should come out. There is a clip in the back corner, be sure to unclip this (Panel towards passenger side) and then lift out
    mods4cars product manual

    Regards
    Khurrum
    #25
  26. Thedeanmanning
    Offline

    Thedeanmanning New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 25, 2014]
    How did you get on VTS4?
    #26
  27. VTS4
    Offline

    VTS4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 3, 2014]
    Hello all,
    Just wanted to give an update....
    Pulled the controller module, opened it and found some corrosion- probably from me activating the top after considerable rain.
    Installed a "new" module, verified all blocks/ window positions with software. Once I was satisfied that everything looked good I activated the switch....all good!

    So....if you get shorted/ opened solenoid valve errors and they ohm out good give the inside of the module a peek :)
    #27
    Thedeanmanning likes this.
  28. Thedeanmanning
    Offline

    Thedeanmanning New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 4, 2014]
    Just wanted to say a big thank you to Khurrum. Popped up to see him where he recognised that the roof controller was faulty via a VCDS. He identified that there was water damage on the Circuit board. This was caused when the rear off side window was replaced by a previous owner. The person who replaced it did not align the window up correctly so it must have allowed a small amount of water to get in without being noticed.

    After replacing the controller Khurrum then realigned the window to create the correct water tight seal. He then realigned the rear tailgate catches, as they were slightly out and lubricated the struts. The codes were then reset.

    All in all a great job to which I am very pleased. The roof is working as good as new. Bonus to have the sun shining on the way home to make the most out of it.

    Thanks again..
    #28
    VagPro likes this.
  29. Thedeanmanning
    Offline

    Thedeanmanning New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 4, 2014]
    Two similar problems!
    #29
  30. MILF
    Offline

    MILF Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 6, 2014]
    I'm so lucky to live in Leicester LOL. Good to hear it's sorted. I might need to visit Khurram for his VCDS service...
    #30
    Thedeanmanning likes this.

Share This Page