1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A4 cabriolet rear window

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by cookiesvw, Mar 13, 2013.

  1. cookiesvw
    Offline

    cookiesvw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 13, 2013]
    My drivers side rear window has decided its not going to go all the way down. Can anyone help. ?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. bitnics
    Offline

    bitnics Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 13, 2013]
    Edit: Sorry it's the rear one! I had similar issue sometimes it will just not react. But restart the car then use the "all-windows" switch and readjust it and back to normal.

    What happens when you press the button? Any noises? Depends if the line snapped or the window switch is not getting any voltage. Check for errors with VCDS sometimes it can flag something.

    Look on my build thread. There is a link to a window repair kit.

    [​IMG]
    #2
  4. cookiesvw
    Offline

    cookiesvw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 13, 2013]
    I can operate the rear window but it stops 3/4 of the way down leaving 1/4 of window sticking out.
    #3
  5. bitnics
    Offline

    bitnics Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 13, 2013]
    It sounds like it skipped some of the closing/opening cycle and has to be readjusted.
    #4
  6. cookiesvw
    Offline

    cookiesvw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 13, 2013]
    Do you know how to do this. Will disconnecting the battery for ten mins then putting back on reset the system.
    #5
  7. Danny-boy
    Offline

    Danny-boy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Mar 13, 2013]
    I thought you just got the window to the top and keep holding the switch up for 10 seconds.

    Resets the motor or so I'm told.

    Worth a try though anyway.
    #6
  8. cookiesvw
    Offline

    cookiesvw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 13, 2013]
    Danny. Just tried that and nope no luck. Lol
    #7
  9. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Mar 13, 2013]
    I think it's drop it all the way down and hold for 30 seconds then all the way up and hold for 30 seconds.
    #8
  10. cookiesvw
    Offline

    cookiesvw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 15, 2013]
    Still no luck :/
    #9
  11. bitnics
    Offline

    bitnics Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 26, 2013]
    Did you run a scan with VCDS?
    On another note my roof won't open. :)
    #10
  12. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Mar 26, 2013]
    Roof manual reset procedure maybe ? There are vids on YouTube.
    #11
  13. bitnics
    Offline

    bitnics Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 26, 2013]
    The locks are not being open in the window frame. Open circuit. :)
    #12
  14. cookiesvw
    Offline

    cookiesvw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 26, 2013]
    Vcd ?? Not sure if this was aimed at my window. It's been sooo cold I've not tried disconnecting my battery but not sure this is gonna work.
    #13
  15. bitnics
    Offline

    bitnics Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 26, 2013]
    It should pick up a fault code usually if you could get the DTCs out with VCDS.
    #14
  16. cookiesvw
    Offline

    cookiesvw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 26, 2013]
    What's the dtc ? And vcd sorry to sound thick.
    #15
  17. bitnics
    Offline

    bitnics Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 26, 2013]
    VCDS is a diagnostic software and interface. DTC = Diagnostic Trouble Code.
    Battery disconnect technique here probably won't help. Make sure you got your radio code before you do that.
    #16
  18. cookiesvw
    Offline

    cookiesvw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 26, 2013]
    Like vag com?

    O yes need to look for radio code just incase. Blooming cars
    #17
  19. bitnics
    Offline

    bitnics Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 27, 2013]
    My rear right windows plays up sometimes and VCDS picked it up. Below I pasted my DTC. Try to scan yours.

    Yes you can say Vag-Com and VCDS are pretty much the same although VCDS is the latest product.

    Code:
    [COLOR=#333333][I]00935 - Electric Window Motor; Rear Right (V27) [/I][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#333333][I]62-10 - No or Incorrect Adjustment - Intermittent[/I][/COLOR]
    
    #18
  20. cookiesvw
    Offline

    cookiesvw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 29, 2013]
    Had it on vcds and both rear windows were out of sync. All reset and working fine.

    So much better they go all the way down lol.
    #19
  21. cookiesvw
    Offline

    cookiesvw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 29, 2013]
    And the suns out today so won't look silly with one window sticking up a bit.
    #20

Share This Page