1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A4 Brake Warning Light

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by fleecyphil, Mar 14, 2012.

  1. fleecyphil
    Offline

    fleecyphil New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 14, 2012]
    Hi Guys

    Can anbody help with wiring diagram & relay details to cure this problem.
    Light comes on after cranking engine,scanned for faults & non showing,have contacted Dealer they say needs relay fitting to cicuit.
    Any help would be much appeciated.

    Regards Phil
    #1
  2. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,787
    Likes Received:
    1,337
    [Mar 15, 2012]
    Scanned for faults with what?
    #2
  3. fleecyphil
    Offline

    fleecyphil New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2012]
    Scanned with VCDS & SNAPPY
    #3
  4. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,253
    Likes Received:
    597
    [Mar 16, 2012]
    battery on its way out can cause this
    #4
  5. alpesh26
    Offline

    alpesh26 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 16, 2012]
    As above.

    Mine did the same, no faults being thrown (checked with VAS). Changed the battery and its been fine since.
    #5
  6. fleecyphil
    Offline

    fleecyphil New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2012]
    Will test battery just to be sure,but seems to crank over well.
    #6
  7. murran
    Offline

    murran Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Mar 16, 2012]
    #7
  8. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,787
    Likes Received:
    1,337
    [Mar 16, 2012]
    Does the reservoir have the 2 prongs inside like the coolant version?

    If so, scratch the surface of the 2 prongs, these fixes the coolant level sender.
    #8
  9. murran
    Offline

    murran Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Mar 16, 2012]
    i dont think they do. you can pull the sensor out. but its just a black oblong bit of plastic that slides in from the side, theres a two pin plug to the cars loom.
    theres a little float and some mechanism inside the reservoir, never bothered chopping a reservoir up to find out how it works tho.

    all i know is ive fitted reservoirs, 8 or 9 in the past 2/3 years.........
    im guessing theres a bit of dirt/water in the sensor mech/float thats succeptable to cold for some reason that combinded with the drop in voltage on start up causes it to flash up.
    its not just diesels either, fitted one on a fwd red 1.8t, thats the most recent one a couple of weeks ago.
    #9
  10. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,787
    Likes Received:
    1,337
    [Mar 16, 2012]
    Ah you see everydays a school day :)
    #10
  11. janzbro
    Offline

    janzbro New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 17, 2012]
    mine had this fault when we bought it - the garage replaced it with one from another A4 they had in but it was still happeing so they had to take it into Audi and have a brand new unit fitted - touch wood its been fault free since.
    #11
  12. fleecyphil
    Offline

    fleecyphil New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 17, 2012]
    Thanks for all the replies,will try this during the week and hope cures problem.
    #12

Share This Page