1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A4 2006 B7 2L Turbo

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by doushkaAudi, Dec 3, 2013.

  1. doushkaAudi
    Offline

    doushkaAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    Hi guys, joined the forum to gain knoweledge hope this going to be fruitful visit, thanks in advance.

    I bought a Blackvue 550 & Power Pro and would like to know which fuse connections to make in the fuse box. Like which ones are permanantly live etc. I have some instructions on installation but these are not quite specific enough. Need some pointers please.

    So the bottom line is can anyone help and give me instructions with pics on how to connect the PMPP to the fuse box.

    I have also got the "Add a circuit" connectors.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Jan 30, 2015]

  3. jdp1962
    Online

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,115
    Likes Received:
    964
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    Welcome to the forum; hope you enjoy it here.

    Hopefully someone will be along shortly to answer your question. Sorry I can't; if you hang around here long enough, you may come to understand why I should never be allowed anywhere near a car's electrical system! :beerchug:
    #2
  4. sidibear
    Offline

    sidibear Looking for Zombies !! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    484
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    Mine is connected to the feed for the aux socket in the boot.
    #3
  5. jdp1962
    Online

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,115
    Likes Received:
    964
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    Mine (a DR380) is connected using the plug-terminated lead to a 12v socket concealed under the dash.
    #4
    sidibear likes this.
  6. doushkaAudi
    Offline

    doushkaAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 5, 2013]
    Mines not connected yet any pics?.
    #5
  7. sidibear
    Offline

    sidibear Looking for Zombies !! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    484
    [Dec 5, 2013]
    JDP, just like mine, but the socket is hardwired to the boot aux socket feed.
    DR380 also. Great cam, had to clean the lens yet?
    #6
  8. doushkaAudi
    Offline

    doushkaAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 5, 2013]
    What i've seen so far suggests going through a Power Magic Pro and fuse box. As the idea for me is to record at night when the car is off does your hardwire connection work.
    No pics???!!!
    #7
  9. jdp1962
    Online

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,115
    Likes Received:
    964
    [Dec 5, 2013]
    I've no pics of the connection, because it's concealed under the dash. Also, I don't use the Power Magic Pro, so it's only recording when the car's in use. If you're looking for night-timer monitoring, you'll definitely need the Power Magic Pro. Why not contact forum member Cruiser89 for guidance. He sells these for a living (he may even have sold you yours, heheh!).
    #8
  10. jdp1962
    Online

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,115
    Likes Received:
    964
    [Dec 5, 2013]
    I've no idea where my socket is hard-wired to (it was done by a professional) but I do know that it stays live until the key is pulled out rather than until the ignition is switched off. That suggests to my limited brain that it is somehow linked to the CANBUS system.
    #9
  11. Paranoid69
    Offline

    Paranoid69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Dec 6, 2013]
    I've got mine fitted using two piggyback fuses in he fuse box. On train currently and don't remember which I used (tested them with a meter to find a switched and a constant).
    Can take a pic in the daylight tomorrow if it helps?
    #10
  12. doushkaAudi
    Offline

    doushkaAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 12, 2013]
    Look forward to the pics Paranoid69
    #11
  13. Paranoid69
    Offline

    Paranoid69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Dec 26, 2013]
    Aha, yes, completely slipped my mind...

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1388069821.068288.jpg
    #12
  14. Paranoid69
    Offline

    Paranoid69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Dec 26, 2013]
    The lower one is the yellow BAT+ (constant) and the upper the switched power.
    #13
  15. Paranoid69
    Offline

    Paranoid69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    7
  16. doushkaAudi
    Offline

    doushkaAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 26, 2013]
    Great paranoid69, i'll check these out and get back. Hope your Christmas was good. Cheers
    #15

Share This Page