1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A4 2.8 V6 30v Thermostat Replacement

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Ian2012, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. Ian2012
    Offline

    Ian2012 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Dec 23, 2012]
    I am just wondering if this can be done without having to remove the cambelt, if so has anyone done it and how easy is it??


    Ta


    Ian
    #1
  2. paul74
    Offline

    paul74 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 23, 2012]
    I need to do same job it can be done without removing cambelt the housing for the stat is located just nxt to sump nut 4 bolts holding the housing in and stat is in there replace and refit as before. Good luck save ££££££
    #2
  3. adamss24
    Offline

    adamss24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,647
    Likes Received:
    220
    [Dec 23, 2012]
    no mate, you need to remove the belt in order to change the stat as it's under the belt on driver side. The belt needs taking off the cam pulley. I have done loads of them and it's not going to fit under the belt whilst tensioned...
    #3
  4. Ian2012
    Offline

    Ian2012 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Dec 23, 2012]
    So i presume if i marked everything up in various different places with tippex and then slackened the belt it's happy days with access to the bloody stat?? provided nothing moves pop belt back on check tippex marks rotate motor for good measure by hand and voila or is that way too simple???
    #4
  5. michaelg1001
    Offline

    michaelg1001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Dec 23, 2012]
    I've just been reading up on this on SRS for my S4, theres a lad on there who has done his by just sliding the belt forward enough to get access to it without actually having to remove it. If I knew it was such a pain in the arse I'd of got mine done a few weeks ago when I had my belt done!
    #5
  6. adamss24
    Offline

    adamss24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,647
    Likes Received:
    220
    [Dec 28, 2012]
    Done a thermostat on a c5 audi a6 with the 2.4 30V engine yesterday. I had to take the belt off. Use a genuine thermostat and seal + make sure you have the right antifreeze. I usually do replace the thermostat on v6 engines for 100 supply and fit or 80 quid with your parts...
    #6
  7. Ian2012
    Offline

    Ian2012 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jan 22, 2013]
    Any tips or tricks you could share to make my life easier??? I have stat and seal that i bought for another car but never fitted, my mpg is rediculous right now because of this

    cheers

    Ian
    #7

Share This Page