1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A4 1.8T Turbo Problems

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by polycage, Jul 4, 2005.

  1. polycage
    Offline

    polycage New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    A while ago I lost all power on my 1996 A4 1.8T sport. I've had the gaskets on the turbo changed in case they were leaking but no joy. I've tried sourcing a used replacement turbo but can only find ones for a Golf 1.8T. Would the Golf model fit my A4?

    Also, does anyone know of anywhere that would do a recon/exchange turbo for a reasonable price?

    That is assuming it is the turbo - the local German car specialist garage seems to think so.
    #1
  2. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why don't they know where to get one.
    If you google recon turbo or look in the yellow pages there are loads of specialist ones that im sure will be able to help you.
    #2
  3. polycage
    Offline

    polycage New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Both the mechanic and myself can only source one for a Golf. which we've been told will not fit. Been quoted £600 for a new one which is a bit more than I want to spend.

    I had a look on Google and exchange units were around £500 - still a bit over budget.

    I want to sell the car after the summer hence the lack of willing to spend money - but nobody will buy it in the states it's in.
    #3
  4. gc48067
    Offline

    gc48067 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try e-bay or someone like Turbo Technics (who will most likely repair or exchange the turbo).

    Greg.
    #4
  5. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok have you tried all the breakers and german ebay?
    #5
  6. gc48067
    Offline

    gc48067 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    And no the Golf (same as A3) model will not fit your car.


    Greg
    #6
  7. fallmonk
    Offline

    fallmonk Turbo Sport

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    4
    #7
  8. imported_dumpvalve
    Online

    imported_dumpvalve Guest

    Check MAF.

    Turbo should be K03.

    Banging noise............?
    #8
  9. polycage
    Offline

    polycage New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Garage have called to say it's the turbo that's at fault. It's also smoking - the car was not doing that before. They put a new oil pipe on it during the swap out and oil is pumping through it. Just one of those things I suppose.
    #9
  10. imported_VaulterTim
    Online

    imported_VaulterTim Guest

    One of those things!?

    Not at all mate, they sold you a knackered turbo by the sound of things.

    Send it back.
    #10
  11. polycage
    Offline

    polycage New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Spoke to 4rings on Friday and they basically told me where to go. I've contacted my c/card company and they are dealing with it for me.
    #11
  12. polycage
    Offline

    polycage New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Someone from this forum has PM'd me and is selling a KO3 turbo but it's from the 180bhp engine - mine is the 150bhp version. Does anyone know if this will fit?
    #12
  13. Soupie69uk
    Online

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,786
    Likes Received:
    6
    if its from the 180bhp version it will be the K03s (sport) it will be a straight swap.

    thats what i used to have
    #13
  14. polycage
    Offline

    polycage New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will this swap require any ECU changes or will the car just run as it should - I assume still at 150bhp.

    Thanks for everyone's help by the way.
    #14
  15. polycage
    Offline

    polycage New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cananyone help me on this? I need to give an answer tomorrow. Thanks!!!
    #15
  16. gc48067
    Offline

    gc48067 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    As far as I know it will run on standard software but is unlikely to give any more power without a rechip - there are people on here better qualified to answer the question though.

    Would suggest talking to someone like AMD if you don't get an answer in time - one of the reputable tuners will definately be able to confirm.

    Greg
    #16
  17. simon_golf_tt
    Offline

    simon_golf_tt Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put a K03s on my old B5 when the turbo died and it worked fine. The car was remapped for the K03 and it drove exactly the same with the K03s - so it should be a straight swap.
    #17
  18. polycage
    Offline

    polycage New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great! Had the KO3s installed and got the car back today. Had to wait a bit as the garage had staff on holiday. All seems to work fine apart from a bit of smoke from the exhaust. Is this expected and will it go in time? The car was running for about 6k miles with the turbo broken (bad idea but money was tight!).
    #18
  19. imported_VaulterTim
    Online

    imported_VaulterTim Guest

    Did you have any joy getting your money back for the knackered turbo you were sold?
    #19
  20. polycage
    Offline

    polycage New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    4rings said "no it was working" but the garage checked it and part of the spindle had broken or something. I paid for it by c/card so they are dealing with it for me now.

    Anyone got any ideas about the smoking from the exhaust? Maybe it just needs a good run. Great to have some power back.

    I might get it re-mapped to make the most of the KO3s.
    #20
  21. imported_VaulterTim
    Online

    imported_VaulterTim Guest

    Poly,

    The smoke could be any number fo things... very difficult to say.

    Was the KO3s properly checked out before you had it installed? Was there any movement in the shaft? Did you have any smoke before? It could be your engine and not the turbo... best to ask the garage to service the car fully and do an inspection.

    Cheers

    T
    #21
  22. polycage
    Offline

    polycage New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gave the car a bit of a run and the smoke seems to have gone. The garage did suggest changing the oil in a few weeks to flush the engine.

    It's a bit jerky but it's getting better.

    Now I need some decent wheels. Do I need to lower the car if I put 17" or 18" rims on it?
    #22
  23. imported_VaulterTim
    Online

    imported_VaulterTim Guest

    No, but it would look better /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    #23

Share This Page