1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A4 1.8T QS Facelift (2000) - OBD II Complaint?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by alex-qts, May 25, 2011.

  1. alex-qts
    Offline

    alex-qts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 25, 2011]
    Hi Guys,

    Does anyone know if the facelift A4's made in 2000 are OBD II complaint, I have looked for the stickers and tried to work out the pin layouts but have had no joy in getting a straight answer, I have had vag-com working but am now trying to use a Bluetooth ELM 327 OBD II adapter with an Android app called Torque to no avail!

    I must have tried 15+ different software programs that "should be supported" but all I seem to get is a strange clicking coming from the dash area!!

    Its an A4 1.8T quattro sport with engine code AJL if this makes any difference.

    Thanks for any help!

    Alex
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 25, 2014]

  3. AR-rkon
    Online

    AR-rkon BZZZZ.... caffeine fueled electrical engineer Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    83
    [May 25, 2011]
    The A4-B5 Is a K line diagnostic, as such is not OBDII compliant (this was mad compulsory for petrols from 2001 and diesels from 2004). I also have an ELM327 interface (though mine is USB) and this will only access to "P" codes (ie: generic engine) and the battery voltage, No other live data can be viewed, and thats after forcing connection on partial support... AFAIK Unfortunately vag Com is the only "proper" tool that will give you the live data + ecu acess on the B5 (and some Hand held units like Omiscan/MTpro/etc at £2k+).

    Hope this helps
    #2
  4. alex-qts
    Offline

    alex-qts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 25, 2011]
    Thanks mate, not the news I was hoping for but im glad I know now! The amount of time I have spent messing around with cables and software thinking I was the problem, the laptop, the calbe... etc!

    Think I might turn my efforts into getting a decent small laptop and GOOD vag-com cable that works, I need to be able to view certain bits of data on the move!

    Thanks

    Alex
    #3
  5. Keyser Soze
    Offline

    Keyser Soze Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 25, 2011]
    Regarding the cable, that is a must. I got me one and it worked with vcds once on my laptop today. The pc recognises the lead but steadfastly refuses to recognise the driver now so vcds now spits its dummy out. Not Happy :(
    #4
  6. AR-rkon
    Online

    AR-rkon BZZZZ.... caffeine fueled electrical engineer Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    83
    [May 25, 2011]
    ebay special Kev? if so, i had the same problem, turns out it was a duff driver. though if you want i can email you the driver i used... (which has it working again)
    #5
  7. Keyser Soze
    Offline

    Keyser Soze Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 25, 2011]
    AHHHHH Rob you are a star!!!!!!!

    I was avoiding the too good to be true ebay 7.99 -8.99 specials from China & Hong Kong , paid £25. Looks like I've been trussed up like a turkey!!!!! :think:

    I've uninstalled & reinstalled VCDS, drivers, etc, etc, etc but still now joy. I'll PM you the email addy.
    #6
  8. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,715
    Likes Received:
    332
    [May 25, 2011]
    The cheap leads are more or less all the same.

    The driver is just a pretty standard USB to Serial bridge, Windows 7 will typically find the driver automatically if you let it search online, rather than using the supplied CD.
    #7
  9. alex-qts
    Offline

    alex-qts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 26, 2011]
    when I had problems connecting to vag-com I found that changing the virtual serial port helped. for some reason it would only work on port 4 not the usual 1 or 2??
    #8
  10. fARQUARE
    Offline

    fARQUARE Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 26, 2011]
    Ditto, vag com can only see ports 1-4 so you'll have to change it to one of them.

    I have a cheapy vag-com lead and a cheapy bluetooth adaptor which I use for torque and they both work fine with my '96 tdi.


    Sent from my U20i using Tapatalk
    #9
  11. alex-qts
    Offline

    alex-qts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 26, 2011]
    #10
  12. Keyser Soze
    Offline

    Keyser Soze Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 27, 2011]
    Bugger it, I've taken the plunge and have ordered up a VCDS-Pro Ross Tech kit from Ilexa (Buy the official Ross-Tech VCDS / VAG-COM diagnostic tool in the ilexa web shop) which contains a true HEX + CAN USB interface, 2 x 2 Adaptor, 14 pin round LT Adaptor, 3M Usb extension lead. This will be delivered tomorrow. Also have an old P4 HP laptop with XP lying about so I'll use that specifically for the diagnostics.
    Last edited: May 27, 2011
    #11
  13. Keyser Soze
    Offline

    Keyser Soze Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 28, 2011]
    It's just arrived now by special delivery. So now here comes the fun.......
    #12

Share This Page