1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A3 Wont Start

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by dayofthejackal, Nov 8, 2012.

  1. dayofthejackal
    Offline

    dayofthejackal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 8, 2012]
    Recently bought a 2001 A3 (AUM). It had a lumpy idle so I replaced the MAF and seemed to cure it.
    I gave it a service then it started to run badly at low revs, fine on turbo. Then it started to idle badly.
    I plugged into VCDS and it showed misfire on cylinder 2 and coil ground problem.
    I replaced the coil and it was still the same. I then noticed the coil wiring was cracked.
    I replaced the coil wiring loom and at the same time simplified the breather pipes and fitted an oil catch can.
    I came to start it and it wouldn't start. It turns over but nothing.
    I plugged into VCDS again:

    6 Faults Found:
    17766 - Cylinder 2 Ignition Circuit: Open Circuit
    P1358 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
    16396 - Bank 1: Camshaft A (Intake): Advance Setpoint not Reached (Over-Retarded)
    P0012 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
    17705 - Pressure Drop between Turbo and Throttle Valve (check D.V.!)
    P1297 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
    18010 - Power Supply Terminal 30: Voltage too Low
    P1602 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
    17535 - Fuel Trim: Bank 1 (Mult): System too Rich
    P1127 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
    16706 - Engine Speed Sensor (G28): No Signal
    P0322 - 35-00 - -
    Readiness: 0010 1101

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 08: Auto HVAC
    Controller: 8L0 820 043 H
    Component: A3 KLIMAAUT
    Coding: 00041
    Shop #: WSC 06435
    Note: Excessive Comm Errors
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. Lewis583
    Online

    Lewis583 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    70
    [Nov 8, 2012]
    You tried clearing the codes and cranking again? If not try that first.

    If its still no good, go into measuring blocks and watch Engine Speed whilst cranking, if it reads 0 then crankshaft sensor/crankshaft sensor wiring will need further investigation.
    #2
  4. dayofthejackal
    Offline

    dayofthejackal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2012]
    Went to a test on the sensors and it started. The only thing different was I plugged the light switch plugs back in and put the lower dash panel back on. (had installed a boost gauge at the same time)
    #3

Share This Page