A3 TDi's - opinions.

Drysdale

Reaction score
Been browsing Auto Trader for the last hour or so and have spotted a few of the A3 TDIs. No one seems to mention them on here. What do people in general think of these? Does it use the same PD engine as the Golfs/Skoda/SEATs?

I'm asking because I'm after a new A3 towards the end of the year (having bought a 1.6 A3 a few weeks ago) as my current car feels underpowered and basically I want something a bit newer and a bit quicker.

I'm 18 you see, will be 19 when the time comes for a new car (October-ish) and don't believe I'm a competent enough driver to handle the 1.8t just yet, so the TDI looks like a compromise.

Opinions on the TDI and TDI quattro....performance figures/comparison to 1.8t etc etc.

And finally, is something like the 1.9 TDI Quattro a suitable alternative to say the 1.8t petrol for a 19 year old who has been driving 2 years? Or should I be looking at say the 1.8 sport?

Mucho thankyou. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

Hay mate at 18-19 and your after a new A3 you must be loaded, ive got an 52plate A3 130bhp Tdi sport. The car is only as fast as your right foot if fuel consumption isnt a problem go for the 18T Q.

Not a brand new one, 2000-2003 8L. I'm not 'loaded'...just sensible saving and a small loan.

Looking at AT though, the TDI Quattro is out of the question. I'll have around £11,500 to spend.

Drysdale... save a bit more a get an S3 there not scary cars to drive!

Thats assuming fuel consumption / insurance isn't a problem.

which leads on to another question, does anyone have really expereince of mpg from the A3 TDi's??? as I think the technology is quite old? 45mpg???

19 year old with an S3 - that defies insurance and all sense of reason hehe.