1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A3 t fsi remap

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Unionbob, Jun 30, 2011.

  1. Unionbob

    Unionbob New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, I'm new to the a3 experience and forum so hi from me:) . I've just had my 2006 a3 ftsi remapped and I can't believe the improvement on what was a great car anyhow. The rolling road figures are as follows:
    Engine bhp 265
    Wheels bhp 224
    Torque 265lb
    Does anyone know if these figures are good!!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Ben H

    Ben H On a journey...

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    19
    That's very good for the 2.0T - I'd be thinking about some complementary upgrades, like brakes, clutch etc.
     
  4. Unionbob

    Unionbob New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, isn't 2.0t same engine as s3 except for pump, ecu?
     
  5. Rhyso

    Rhyso Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    44
    Lots of differences including the turbo

    Those are very high figures for just a remap; most see around the 240bhp - to 250bhp.
     
  6. Unionbob

    Unionbob New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I mean base engine ie, block, pistons, flywheel ect. Yeah rolling road figures were showing 218bhp before remap, but it is quicker now and torque power is constant . Always knew audis were good but not this good:) happy days .
     
  7. Minstadave

    Minstadave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    19
    Which remap did you go for?
     
  8. Unionbob

    Unionbob New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Company called p-torque based in Wolverhampton area .
     
  9. Ben H

    Ben H On a journey...

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    19
    The 265hp 2.0T as used in the S3 / Golf R / Cupra R (and more) is quite different and uses the K04 rather than K03 turbo. You can use the normal K03 2.0T as a base for a K04 conversion, but that usually costs about £3.5k fitted.

    The K04 is basically a bigger turbo and needs beefed-up ancillaries. It's a good unit and serously shifts once boosted properly after 2,500rpm - but personally I've found it slightly less flexible in day-to-day driving than the 200hp K03 2.0T, which is a really sorted engine.
     
  10. audicruiser

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    46
    Fancy a swap then Ben lol???!!!

    Would remap sort the S3 in flexability?
     
  11. rockape

    rockape Per ardua

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    4
    That's a good gain in power you have unionbob. Has your mpg changed as a result?

    The main differences on the ko4 engines is diverter valve relocator, new turbo discharge/intake pipes, ecu software, injectors etc etc all of which helps it to handle more power before bending things.

    I agree with Ben H that the ko3 drives better day to day and I think it spools up just as quick as the ko4. But, I miss the insane power my cupra(ko4) had.
     
  12. Unionbob

    Unionbob New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, only had remap done a few days but it is noticeable how the power as increased, does anyone think remapping might give engine shorter life or can the engine handle it?
     
  13. phil76

    phil76 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    40
    If all the AFR readings are fine and things have been checked out it should be ok as they are pretty strong engines to be honest,260bhp does seem high though but mind you so does the 218bhp standard,only thing which might not handle it is the clutch and brakes depending on how you drive and how the map brings in the power,where did you have it dyno'd?
     
  14. audicruiser

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    46
    I am thinking of getting mine mapped to stage 1... Phil76 are you still running your standard clutch with yours? How many miles have you covered since your map?
     
  15. phil76

    phil76 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    40
    I have done about 10k on the standard clutch or maybe more since i got it mapped and no issues,only thing that would need replacing if it hasnt been done already is the standart DV to the uprated one as mine tore itself a new bum hole in space of 2weeks but they are only about £70,get it done mate and get a decent intake for it and it livens the car up no end
     
  16. audicruiser

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    46
    Hmmm.... Wallet may have to come out. Thanks for the advice!!
     
  17. Rhyso

    Rhyso Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    44
    You knows you want to Scott; resistance is futile haha
     
  18. audicruiser

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    46
    Yeah I know mate... It's you, you have that ability for your modding bug to rub off on people!! :laugh:
     
  19. Rhyso

    Rhyso Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    44
    I don't do anything :ninja:
     

Share This Page