1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A3 Sportback diesel chips

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by jonathans, Dec 30, 2007.

  1. jonathans
    Offline

    jonathans New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 30, 2007]
    Hi All !!!

    I have a 2 yr old A3 2.0TDI 140 quattro and want to get it remapped or chipped to give it more grunt (ie 170 plus bhp) !!! but have heard horror stories about gearboxes failing on chipped or remapped versions. mine is a quattro with manual gearbox... apparently the audi boys say they have had a few in with bent gearboxes...both the DSG box and the manual box on the quattro are not strong enough.... !!! is this true or is it just the audi officialdom trying to put me off ... apparently the new 170bhp version has different box/engine/etc etc... please can anyone help !!!

    thanks from Jonathan:hubbahubba:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 19, 2014]

  3. rickquattro
    Offline

    rickquattro Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 30, 2007]
    I have a 52 plate 1.9 Tdi Q with 112k miles, remapped at 5k. Following variable servicing at a non audi specialist although some done late, ragged across Europe stuffed to the gills with outdoor stuff (like back seats down, to the roof stuffed), many times...

    You will be able to destroy the clutch if you do the traffic light GP, hence some stories I guess.

    You have the 140 rather than the 170 dpf... get it done and get on with enjoying it. Use a reputable tuner, there are loads of recommendations on here....Revo, Superchips, GIAC etc

    I was going to buy a new Sportback but:

    Dpf problems put me off
    My car is still strong and not costing me anything except servicing and fuel and I love it after the mods I have done.

    Believe a myth or believe a fact. End of....

    HTH
    #2
  4. SteveTDCi
    Offline

    SteveTDCi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 31, 2007]
    Milltek are doing a DPF bypass kit, it leaves the sensors in but removes the bit that breaks !
    #3
  5. Twizzler
    Online

    Twizzler Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Dec 31, 2007]
    Hmmm. Very interesting that. So what happens when you get to the first MOT test? The tester looks up the emission figures for the particular model and yours won't pass because the very thing that removes the smoke is no longer present. Personally, if it's not broke I wouldn't try fixing it.
    #4
  6. SteveTDCi
    Offline

    SteveTDCi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 31, 2007]
    DPF only removes the soot, the CAT as far as i'm aware is still there. Diesels only fail on smoke not on emmissions
    #5
  7. Twizzler
    Online

    Twizzler Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Dec 31, 2007]
    Surely it is the soot that causes the opacity of the smoke? Thus causing failure of the smoke test.
    #6
  8. jonathans
    Offline

    jonathans New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 31, 2007]
    thanks for this - v useful indeed,

    do u know if some chips/remaps are undetectable (ie dont void the warranty !!!) and who would u recommend from the 3 companies u mentioned?

    thanks Jonathan
    #7
  9. sukrw
    Offline

    sukrw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 31, 2007]
    #8
  10. Amchlolor
    Offline

    Amchlolor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,604
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Dec 31, 2007]
    Given that you can report vehicles for excessive soot, it stands to reason that a car will fail an MOT for it.
    #9
  11. Spin140
    Offline

    Spin140 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Dec 31, 2007]
    Stick with the market leaders, service your car on time and you should have no problem.
    #10
  12. redbutcher
    Offline

    redbutcher Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 31, 2007]
    If you like the option of removing the remap, I'd go for the Bluefin option from Superchips. Mine was done at 200 miles and I'm loving it 800 miles later. You'll also get a 10% discount if you mention this forum (they'll also need your forum username).
    #11
  13. SteveTDCi
    Offline

    SteveTDCi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 31, 2007]
    The 140 doesn't fail due to excessive smoke so i would see no reason why the 170 would
    #12
  14. jonathans
    Offline

    jonathans New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 31, 2007]
    hi thanks reply

    located in Yorkshire so not too far,
    #13
  15. Twizzler
    Online

    Twizzler Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Dec 31, 2007]
    Steve, the 140 will have a much higher pass target figure for the smoke test than a 170. The 170's lower figure will reflect the fact it has a dpf - or should have!
    #14
  16. jonathans
    Offline

    jonathans New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 2, 2008]
    Thanks for this Redbutcher

    do u have any performance figs for your "bluefinned" TDI?.

    was also looking at a co. called Diesel Tuner on internet - they do a remap for about half the price of the Superchips Bluefin. Wonder what the catch is?
    #15
  17. redbutcher
    Offline

    redbutcher Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 2, 2008]
    I don't have any rolling road figures, but you'll get a rough idea by looking at this link.

    It really depends on what the engine is pumping out as standard - obviously the higher starting figure will give better results. I think 190+ bhp has been seen on some models as the initial bhp was way above the stock 140.

    The warranty offered by Superchips was one if the reasons I went with them - and they certainly are well known.

    I'd stick to Spin140's advice - stick to the market leaders - I'm very glad I did. Also, from other members postings, they are more than willing to sort out any problems you get (if any) and will provide assistance if the dealer loads a new software version on the ECU (as this will overwrite your remap).

    The Bluefin unit is very easy to use:
    • Connect to the car
    • Bluefin confirms connection
    • Turn ignition on
    • Bluefin reads current ECU map and stores it
    • Bluefin confirms successful read
    • Turn ignition off
    • Bluefin unit tells you to load software on PC
    • Load software on PC
    • Connect Bluefin unit to PC via USB connection
    • Run software
    • Enter in owner details
    • Current ECU data uploaded to Superchips
    • Wait for text message/email to say remap ready
    • Connect Bluefin unit to PC
    • Run software
    • Remap downloaded to Bluefin unit
    • Sprint to the car
    • Connect Bluefin unit to car
    • Turn ignition on
    • Bluefin asks if you want to do Bluefin upload or extras
    • Select Bluefin
    • Remap uploaded
    • Bluefin confirms remap loaded
    • Turn ignition off
    • Disconnect Bluefin unit
    • Enjoy :)
    #16
  18. BrianM
    Offline

    BrianM BrianM

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 3, 2008]
    I had the Superchips Bluefin on my A3 DSG and it was the best money spent ever, the 140hp goe sup to around 180hp and makes the car superb to drive. You can revert to the standard map in 10 minutes if you're worried about the warranty etc, it will not be totally undetectable but the average technician will only notice the mapped car if he takes it for a test drive. I still have my Bluefin handset if you wish to purchase from me and buy a new map from Superchips (about £150 I think), just a case of transferring the ownership. Happy to accept a sensible offer as it cost me £530 but I now have a BMW 530D and it won't connect. Email me if anyone is interested. brian.maslen@ntlworld.com
    #17

Share This Page