1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A3 Radio Fuse Location?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by johncbradley1, Oct 8, 2013.

  1. johncbradley1

    johncbradley1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Audi Symphony radio will not turn on after the battery was disconnected. It has done this before and what I did to get it on was push a tape cassette into it and then it would boot up, but as you can see from the photo, this time the battery was disconnected with the cassette INSIDE :banghead:
    photo 3.jpg
    So now my plan is to remove the radio fuse and replace it and see if that does anything.
    1 problem.... I can't seem to find the fuse for the radio
    photo 2.jpg
    photo 1.jpg

    As it says on the fuse numbers "FURTHER FUSES IN E-BOX AND AUXILIARY RELAY BRACKET"
    Could the radio fuse be located there? If so, where is the E-Box?

    P.S I do not have the manual

    Thank you
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Chillout

    Chillout Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    48
    Normally they have a fuse on the back of the head unit itself
     
  4. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,327
    Likes Received:
    1,461
    The fuse is in engine bay next to battery under a slide locking cover.
     
  5. JohnE

    JohnE 2005 A3 Sport 1.6 FSI

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    39
    Engine bay Fuses 8 and 9 are listed as audio and nav system in my haynes book of half-truths.
     
  6. turbonutz

    turbonutz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    63
    watch u dont drop a fuse in the engine bay as i have done one evening, hat to rip out batter, fuse box and all surrounds to retrieve it as it was getting very dark yay :)
     
  7. johncbradley1

    johncbradley1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well... I fixed it.
    This may be a bit hard to explain but I'll try my best: right so nob for the volume(left) was always sunk in a little bit (not as prominent as the tuner nob) and on numerous occasions I had tried pressing it in because usually that is where the 'on/off' button was, but it was just solid. Any way, after pulling the unit out and check the fuse (which was ok) I noticed the volume nob drop out a tiny bit and so I pulled it completely off and then pressed in the little bar thingy that it attaches too and hey presto! It turned on. I was extremely happy and at the same time annoyed that I had gone without music for so long and it only needed pressing on :happy:. Well now I've switched the nobs over so this will not happen again :)
     
  8. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,327
    Likes Received:
    1,461
    Lol, so effectively it was muted, that's a new one, but hey glad all fixed.
     
  9. johncbradley1

    johncbradley1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Knob* pardon me
     

Share This Page