1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A3 Power Problems HELP!!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by AudiA3Dude, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. AudiA3Dude
    Offline

    AudiA3Dude New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 26, 2011]
    Hi guys, I have an A3 2.0 FSI 2004 manual, and was driving the car today then all of a sudden there was power loss when I tried to accelerate and lots of jerking/stalling. There appears to be hardly any power like the car is seriously struggling to get over 40mph. Any ideas please? I let it cool down for an hour then went back out and the problem seems to persist, just feels really sluggish!

    also there was no warning lights displayed or anything.
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2011
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. SAiLO
    Offline

    SAiLO Enthusiast VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jun 26, 2011]
    What happened means your car went into limp mode to prevent damage to engine or other components.
    Hard to tell what might be the cause. Get it scanned with VCDS.
    #2
  4. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,022
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jun 26, 2011]
    cud be anything,try disconnecting the battery and leaving it 15 mins...then re-connect and try again,really needs plugging in diagnostic to see what errors are stored in the ecu.
    #3
  5. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jun 26, 2011]
    Probably a coil pack has failed. It normally puts the engine management light on but not always. As said, a scan will help.
    #4
  6. AudiA3Dude
    Offline

    AudiA3Dude New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 26, 2011]
    I had the coil packs replaced by Audi about 2 months ago under there re-call scheme. Could they fail so quickly?
    #5
  7. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jun 26, 2011]
    ah, I wouldn't have thought so.
    #6
  8. AudiA3Dude
    Offline

    AudiA3Dude New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 26, 2011]
    Im thinking maybe its a MAF sensor. Does anybody know if the car goes into Limp mode if the MAF fails?
    #7
  9. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jun 26, 2011]
    I would doubt its the MAF, im sure you would only notice a very slight drop in performance & economy. You could try removng the spark plugs & comparing their colour to see if any are different.

    I'm guessing its not a Turbo BTW? I dont think N/A engines really go into limp home like a turbo'd engine does.
    #8
  10. AudiA3Dude
    Offline

    AudiA3Dude New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 26, 2011]
    no its not a turbo. So you are saying that only cars with a turbo go into limp mode??
    #9
  11. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jun 27, 2011]
    To me limp home mode is when a turbo doesnt work to prevent any further damage or damage to the engine etc but it could be used to describe any function the car can do to get you home. It could be the MAF thats causing it but I wouldnt buy anything until a scan of the car has been done.
    #10
  12. jungleman
    Offline

    jungleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    42
    [Jun 27, 2011]
    if you want to know if its the maf, unplug it and take the car for a drive, if the car senses there is no maf it defaults to the engine map to control fuelling, if it runs smooth then youve got a maf issue, if not its something else simples
    #11

Share This Page