1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A3 Modification - HELP

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by fesss_84, Nov 15, 2007.

  1. fesss_84
    Offline

    fesss_84 Sylar

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2007]
    hi ppl

    I have recently bought an Audi A3 but it doesnt have an on-board computer, telling me how many MPG im doing and so on....

    Does anyone know if its possible to install this once i have the requird component, basically is the wiring already in place behind the speedometer etc etc. or would this mean i have to strip the entire car to get the wiring in?????

    many thanks in advance:rulez:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 15, 2007]
    Funny you should ask...

    I was looking around for things to do with my VAGCOM lead and came across the following:

    http://www.audiforums.com/m_336432/tm.htm

    There's no pictures, but it looks fairly straight-forward to understand.

    Here's another link from a dude who did it with a photo, but no info: http://www.tyresmoke.net/ubbthreads/showthreaded.php/Cat/0/Number/761209/page/0

    You'll need to ground the windscreen washer level sensor:
    http://www.navplus.us/forum/viewtopic.php?highlight=washer+pin+ground&t=1962

    Some info on the VAG coding necessary:
    http://www.tyresmoke.net/ubbthreads/showthreaded.php/Cat/0/Number/763035/page/0/vc/1


    It seems all you need to buy is the multi-function wiper stalk and a repair cable for grounding the washer fluid sensor - and have access to a VAGCOM lead.
    #2
  4. fesss_84
    Offline

    fesss_84 Sylar

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2007]
    #3
  5. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 15, 2007]
    just spotted the DSG reference.

    I assume there that having DGS gets you the full DIS screen even though it is not enabled.

    The manual cars without DIS presumably have only the half height DIS screen - both my A3s have had DIS so I can't comment on that.

    Looks as if it is not possible - unless you can find a instrument cluster in a breakers yard maybe?
    #4
  6. fesss_84
    Offline

    fesss_84 Sylar

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2007]
    this is totally unbelievable, and complicated, it not as easy as i first assumed.
    what suprises me is my peugeot came standard with a computer DIS, and and the Audi doesnt
    #5
  7. fesss_84
    Offline

    fesss_84 Sylar

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2007]
    i cant understand why you cant install it into a MT
    #6
  8. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 15, 2007]
    I think the DSG models get the full DIS display (even if the trip computers are disabled) because the basic DIS doesn't have the piece at the bottom to display the gear selection information.

    I think the limitation on installing it in the MT cars is that they only have the basic display as they don't need to display the gear selection information.
    #7
  9. fesss_84
    Offline

    fesss_84 Sylar

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2007]
    so on a MT only half of the screen is ever used? does it not display graphical pics of car such as open doors.? mpg? washer fluid level? journey info? MPG? remaining fuel information?
    #8
  10. fesss_84
    Offline

    fesss_84 Sylar

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2007]
    i ask because, the courtesy car i have ben given is a 2.0TD VW Jetta 57-plate, and its on-board computer is excellent!!! AND its MT

    im suprised they arent found in audi A3 2.0TDI SE 2006 MT.

    simply because its only available in DSG models!
    #9
  11. fesss_84
    Offline

    fesss_84 Sylar

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2007]
    BTW if anyone else has any modification questions or solutions, please feel freee to post!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    #10

Share This Page