1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A3 Front wiper relay location

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Pubemammal, May 11, 2013.

  1. Pubemammal
    Offline

    Pubemammal Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    78
    [May 11, 2013]
    Hi guys, anyone know where the wiper relay is located? Can't find any diagrams on this. Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16,188
    Likes Received:
    2,388
    [May 11, 2013]
    ​Im pretty sure it is below the steering wheel. The guys will correct me if i am wrong. :) x
    #2
  4. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [May 11, 2013]
    #3
    Sandra likes this.
  5. Pubemammal
    Offline

    Pubemammal Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    78
  6. Pubemammal
    Offline

    Pubemammal Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    78
    [May 12, 2013]
    OK so removed the wiper relay... However it was still clicking when wipers were moving is this a sign that the relay may not be at fault after all?

    Also the metal clips to hold the dash panel under steering wheel... Are these just push fit because I can't seem to get them clipped back in!?

    Thanks

    Attached Files:

    #5
  7. Pubemammal
    Offline

    Pubemammal Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    78
  8. Pubemammal
    Offline

    Pubemammal Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    78
  9. A3_130
    Offline

    A3_130 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 12, 2013]
    What problem were you getting to make you want to change the relay- intermittent wipe not working properly? Worth getting another one from a breakers yard to try it. I did when mine went on a Golf Mk4 TDI and got two of the relays for a fiver! Several models use the 377 wiper relay so shouldn't be hard to get one. Clips are push fit - just a bit of a knack to it.
    #8
  10. Pubemammal
    Offline

    Pubemammal Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    78
    [May 12, 2013]
    Sorry forgot I posted the original problem on a different thread :eek:

    The problem is that the wipers do not turn off even with stalk in the off position, they stay on intermittent, wiping the windscreen every 20 seconds or so.
    #9
  11. A3_130
    Offline

    A3_130 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 13, 2013]
    #10
  12. Pubemammal
    Offline

    Pubemammal Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    78
    [May 13, 2013]
    Oh bugger! Really thought it would be as simple as changing the relay. No idea how to get to the switch! Looks like more forum trawling for me :rolleyes:
    #11
  13. Pubemammal
    Offline

    Pubemammal Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    78
    [May 15, 2013]
    Changed the relay today... Wipers fixed! Thank god for that. Thanks for all your help
    #12
    Vex182 likes this.

Share This Page