1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A3 Engine Coolant Sensor G62?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by reptor245, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. reptor245
    Offline

    reptor245 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jan 11, 2009]
    hey guys, ive run Vag-Com today and my 1.8T and it came up with

    16500/P0116/000278 - Engine Coolant Temp. Sensor (G62): Implausible Signal


    Possible Symptoms
    [​IMG]Starting the engine when engine is warmish or warm, idle rpm immediately is 1200 - 3000 rpm.
    [​IMG]Diesel: an indication is extreme long time burning time of the glow indication light.
    [​IMG]With all engine temperatures seldom idle rpm will vary between 900 - 1000 rpm.
    [​IMG]With engine warm (90 °C) the engine temperature suddenly drops (70 °C) and slowly comes back to 90 °C.
    Possible Causes
    [​IMG]Wiring and/or connections faulty
    [​IMG]Engine Coolant Sensor (G62) faulty


    other than the stealers, were can i get a new green type sendor from? thanks in advance
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 25, 2014]

  3. andyg0141
    Offline

    andyg0141 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 11, 2009]
    you can get it from GSF or Eurocarparts but the delaers will prob only be about £20/£25 quid so i would go there and get the genuine part tbh!!

    Andy
    #2
  4. reptor245
    Offline

    reptor245 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jan 11, 2009]

    aha oks, might give them a ring tomo to get a price incase. ive email GSF too :)
    #3
  5. beeitch
    Offline

    beeitch Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 19, 2009]
    Easy to remove, and cheap to buy :D
    #4
  6. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 19, 2009]
    murraysdirect.co.uk
    #5
  7. dantdi
    Offline

    dantdi ...

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 19, 2009]
    Coolant Temp Sensor for 2004 2.0tdi is 35 quid from audi. Brought one b4 xmas
    hope this helps.
    #6
  8. reptor245
    Offline

    reptor245 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jan 19, 2009]
    nice one. just got an email back and will cost
    A new temperature sensor is £12.77 plus a seal £0.56. We currently have stock available for immediate despatch. P&P [1st class recorded] is £3.16.

    bargain.
    #7
  9. kaos_king
    Offline

    kaos_king New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 18, 2009]
    Sorry to bring this back up.

    Mine is coming up with the same error - G62 Implausable Signal.

    Ive changed the sensor and still no luck - what else can i check? Mr_v suggested buying the whole housing as sometimes it can get cracked but i want to know if there are cheaper things i can check first? Cheers guys
    #8
  10. kaos_king
    Offline

    kaos_king New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 24, 2009]
    It turned out that it was a loose connection to the G62 sensor
    #9
  11. russelj80
    Offline

    russelj80 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2010]
    where exactly is this sensor on the car? mine has gone too apparently. same fault code on the vagcom and everything!!
    #10
  12. Madeley
    Offline

    Madeley Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2010]
    Just above the gearbox on a coolant pipe.
    #11
  13. MickM
    Offline

    MickM Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 19, 2010]
    Has anyone got a pic of where this sensor is, need to change mine in a couple hours.
    #12
  14. SiGainey
    Offline

    SiGainey Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 19, 2010]
    You really can't miss it. If you follow the top radiator hose back to where it splits into a Y pipe, it's just to the left of that in a coolant pipe. Single clip, undo the wiring connector and pull it out :)
    #13
  15. russelj80
    Offline

    russelj80 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 19, 2010]
    photo would be nice! ive changed 2 sensors in that area and really struggling to see where this one goes!
    #14
  16. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Nov 19, 2010]
    This is the best I can find on the web. This is looking at the engine side on, with the air box removed, from the passenger side.

    [​IMG]
    #15
  17. talentwalsh
    Offline

    talentwalsh Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 19, 2010]
    Dont forget to release the pressure before changing to avoid wet socks!
    #16
  18. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Nov 19, 2010]
    lol, or a feckin hot face....

    I'd normally recommend doing it after the engine has completely cooled.
    #17
  19. russelj80
    Offline

    russelj80 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 19, 2010]
    nice photo mate!! thanks. This could be promising!!
    #18
  20. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Nov 19, 2010]
    No worries. Looking at the photo, the TIP is on the right, and the battery on the left.
    #19
  21. russelj80
    Offline

    russelj80 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 25, 2010]
    got the air box out just now thinking id see something more obvious. looking at the pic tho ive already changed that sensor. the one i have wouldnt fit that 4pin connection anyway. unless audi gave me the wrong sensor here i dunno? . . im only wanting a temp reading on my dashboard i assume it is just a sensor somewhere?
    #20
  22. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Nov 25, 2010]
    Its deffo that one dude. Must have the the wrong one..
    #21
  23. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,285
    Likes Received:
    90
    [Nov 25, 2010]
    Ive just changed the same sensor but i think the cars air locked now.

    Can i remove the expansion tank lid and squeez the pipes or will that suck more air in?
    #22
  24. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Nov 25, 2010]
    No, that will help.

    Best thing is to leave the cap off and give the engine a rev to fast idle for a min or two. That has always cleared any air locks I've had.
    #23
  25. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,285
    Likes Received:
    90
    [Nov 25, 2010]
    So i can leave the cap off and start the engine? fast idle been around 2500rpm?
    #24
  26. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Nov 25, 2010]
    Yep, have the heaters in the car on max temp and full whack as well.
    #25
  27. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,285
    Likes Received:
    90
    [Nov 25, 2010]
    Goes outside to try now :), cheers welly.
    #26
  28. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,792
    Likes Received:
    342
    [Nov 25, 2010]
    implausible signal can also be caused by a faulty thermostat.
    #27
  29. russelj80
    Offline

    russelj80 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 25, 2010]
    ive changed the thermostat mate. so its either the sensor ive changed is faulty or the connection is faulty or even still, there is a problem with the dashboard itself!!?
    #28
  30. RIGZI
    Offline

    RIGZI New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 7, 2011]
    I was getting a regular 17704 code off the LG along with a (white) smokey exhaust and a few hot start problems which was solved by replacing the G62.
    I bought the sensor, clip and o-ring from ECP for £18 and thanx to welly for showing us where the sensor is located, it's taken about 2mins to replace. Happy now :)
    #29
  31. RIGZI
    Offline

    RIGZI New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 7, 2011]
    I was getting a regular 17704 code off the LG along with a (white) smokey exhaust and a few hot start problems which was solved by replacing the G62.
    I bought the sensor, clip and o-ring from ECP for £18 and thanx to welly for showing us where the sensor is located, it's taken about 2mins to replace. Happy now :)
    #30

Share This Page