1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A3 Concert II to RNS-E

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by ctek, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. ctek
    Offline

    ctek New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    Hi

    I am due to pick up my A3 Black Edition in the next two weeks. (I think) it comes with a double din Concert II CD/radio and Bose

    Is this a straight forward upgrade of RNS-E + Antenna + recode or are additional cables needed

    Can I do this myself (apart from the recode) - My last A3 had a single din to RNS-E conversion and I used to take that out occasionally to clean the laser head.

    Cheers

    Howard
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 30, 2014]

  3. bdavbdav
    Offline

    bdavbdav Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 18, 2011]
    Basic Steps:

    1) Switch relevant cables around at back - Bose pins, and aux pins if you get the 32pin connector for them.
    2) Code your cluster / central gateway for RNS-E (can do the rest, and have a 90% working system without this - just no cluster displays and errors on the gateway)
    3) Antenna amplifiers in trunk - some don't bother with this - I haven't yet but should really.

    As I say, 90% working system with very little effort. Just the coding (if you don't have the VCDS) and the antenna amp that require any real effort.
    #2
  4. ctek
    Offline

    ctek New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 19, 2011]
    Many thanks for the reply - I have read so many threads about this that my head is spinning.

    So the Concert II+ will come with the right connector to connect to the RNS-E - I don't need an adapter cable, I just need to swap the bose pin around (I have found some threads on this and it, sort of, looks easy enough).

    What is the aux pin and 32 pin connector for?

    I have just bought an RNS-E mk2 off ebay - presumably that doesn't make any difference?

    I will leave the antenna amp for now - its a lease car so dont want to do too much too it. I had sat nav though in my previous A3 (which got nicked a couple of weeks ago) and really cant live without it and it can always be switched back later

    So if all goes well I just need to find a friendly soul who can do the VCDS reprogramme

    Once again, many thanks for the help - I am trying to avoid making any costly mistakes so any help / advice is very welcome

    H
    #3
  5. bdavbdav
    Offline

    bdavbdav Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 24, 2011]
    When you say RNS-E MK2, is that the one with the shiny or matte screen bezel?

    Yep Concert II+ is exactly the same connector, and almost exactly the same pinout.

    Aux Pin - do you have the aux connector next to handbrake / 12V socket, and do you want to use it? If so, you need to pop another couple of pins out of the connector block, and get another housing from Audi - not essential though if you can live without the AUX.

    If you struggle to find someone who can help you with the VCDS, most Audi independent specialists will rent you the use of theirs (probably with a person to push the buttons) - I think I ended up paying £25 for someone to make the changes for me. I'd put the RNS-E in first and check all is working before going to get VCDS done - the only thing it will do is log a couple of faults on the CAN gateway saying "Nav isn't meant to be here", which can be cleared by whoever is doing the coding anyway.
    #4
  6. Phradge
    Offline

    Phradge New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 26, 2011]
    Hi ,
    I have just decided to link up my Aux socket to my RNSE, I have the 32 pin plug but I dont know which wires go where anyone help me out.
    Pin 6 Aux NF Right
    Pin 21 Gnd
    Pin 22 Aux NF Left
    I think the three wires to connect are Green Yellow and possibly Pink

    Thanks
    Phil
    #5
  7. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Mar 26, 2011]
    Trial and error mate. Cables are easy to get out when plugged in using a precision flathead screwdriver.
    #6
  8. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Mar 26, 2011]
    Yellow 21
    Green 22
    Grey 6
    #7

Share This Page