1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A3 Cluster problems - the saga continues

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by A3Monster, Jul 31, 2009.

  1. A3Monster
    Offline

    A3Monster Faster pussy cat!

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 31, 2009]
    Oh my god, I'm not a happy bunny. This might sound stupid NOW but I sent my cluster off to have the fuel guage fixed to 'a well known Cluster Repairs company in the UK', they said it was beyond repair I think (it was hard to understand the bloke) so they didn't charge me and when I got the unit back, put it back in the car, the engine wouldn't start because all the immobilser data has clearly gone (acts the same as when your key fob isn't programmed to your car).

    Called them back, was told to turn the key and not start the engine to let it 'callibrate'. This had no effect so having to get a breakdown recovery lorry to take it from my house to the nearest Audi dealer where they are goimng to put in a new unit. The bloke at the Audi garage said that I was one of many in the last 6 months who had sent heir units away and lost everything. I know they are after the money at Audi dealers but I suspect he is right on this.

    So, hot tip: DON'T SEND YOUR UNIT AWAY - put up with it or buy a new one.

    I was planning on spending £500 for upgraded brakes and engine mapping but that's that down the bog for now...:puke::3sadwalk::sob:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. lucksta
    Offline

    lucksta Audi OCD

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 1, 2009]
    That's a bummer, just wondering - did you leave the battery disconnected the whole time the cluster was out of the car?
    #2
  4. A3Monster
    Offline

    A3Monster Faster pussy cat!

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 2, 2009]
    Allright mate. Yeah, I did, they told me to do that at the so-called cluster repair place. Anyway, they said the unit was beyond repair and they didn't charge me, so I think I would have had to pay out for a new one at some point as it was slowly dying.

    It just would have been nice to drive to the garage instead of being towed by a nut-case recovery driver! God, I couldn't look, I tell you, it was horrible...:scared2:
    It is a nightmare with these clusters as you never really know what the best course of action is, apart from spend out on a new one.
    #3
  5. A3Monster
    Offline

    A3Monster Faster pussy cat!

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 4, 2009]
    Got it back today, cost £580. Goes lovley though as usual - sigh.....:greyrs4::friends:
    #4
  6. lucksta
    Offline

    lucksta Audi OCD

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 4, 2009]
    Glad ya got it fixed. Money comes and goes, but essentially - you've now you've got a fully working cluster!
    #5

Share This Page