1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A3 brake pad sensor

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Stevo11, Jun 4, 2012.

  1. Stevo11

    Stevo11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right just changed the rear pads and dics on my a3 but couldn't see we're the plug goes for the brake pad sensor spoke to the shop were I got them and they said there may not have them on the back so cut it off but the light is still on the previous owner changed the front pads and cut the sensor on the front passenger side an twisted the connection to form a loop so is there one on the back as the light on the dash is still on anyone know we're this is??
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. crunchie

    crunchie Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    64
    If you didn't need to take a plug out with the old pads you shouldn't need to plug the new ones in anywhere surely?
     
  4. Minstadave

    Minstadave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    19
    I didn't think the rears had a sensor?
     
  5. Stevo11

    Stevo11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well they had one on but the light on the dash is still on an cant figure out why
     
  6. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,051
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    With all respect, if you unplugged the old ones, then I cant see how you cant plug in the new ones.
     
  7. Stevo11

    Stevo11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    As I said the new ones had a sensor wire but the old had none so just assumed that they should have them the issue I have is the light is still on
     
  8. crunchie

    crunchie Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    64
    No offense but if you are this unfamiliar with brake systems you shouldn't be touching them.
    Put it into a garage to get done.
    Sounds like there is a problem with the fronts still.
     
  9. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,051
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    With all respect mate, thats not what you said, you advised us you couldnt see where to plug them in, not, the old ones didnt have plugs, but alas.

    You need to plug vcds or the like in to ascertain where the light is coming from, whereabouts are you located?
     
  10. Stevo11

    Stevo11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Am in the clitheroe area
     

Share This Page