1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A3 8V SD Nav SDXC Card Contents

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by drtav13, Apr 23, 2013.

  1. drtav13
    Offline

    drtav13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    could someone with SD Nav post the list of files contained in the SDXC Memory Card?

    thanks!
    #1
  2. GrumpyEngineer
    Offline

    GrumpyEngineer New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    there are over 2300 files on the card which would make a really long and boring post so i've have dumped it here....
    a3 sportback sd card - Pastebin.com
    out of idle curiosity, i copied the files onto a blank sd card (there is about 5gb of data on a 8gb card), just as a backup, but the satnav did not recognise it.

    rich
    #2
  3. drtav13
    Offline

    drtav13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    thank you very much for your time , i'm waiting for my 2013 maps to arrive at my dealership and i intend to do the same test . will let you know how it goes.
    #3
  4. frazzeld
    Offline

    frazzeld Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    19
    I have also tried to copy the card no joy, it would be handy to have a backup just in case
    #4
  5. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,359
    Likes Received:
    689
    Have you checked that the new card is formatted with the same filesystem as the existing one?
    #5
  6. frazzeld
    Offline

    frazzeld Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    19
    FAT32......I also cloned the card using Acronis as I thought that might work! just gave me a message that said insert medium in sd slot
    #6
  7. drtav13
    Offline

    drtav13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    still waiting for mine to arrive....

    #7
  8. tobycruse
    Offline

    tobycruse Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Boot sector? Command lines? I'm sure Audi have hidden something up their sleeve so you cant easily copy it....
    #8
  9. constvoid
    Offline

    constvoid Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    29
    Copy protection using DRM is part of the SD Card standard. It is highly likely that Audi will have protected their copyrighted material using this method.
    #9
  10. Zig
    Offline

    Zig Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Agreed the contents of the SD card will be protected.
    #10
  11. GrumpyEngineer
    Offline

    GrumpyEngineer New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    i don't think the proper SD card DRM is used, if it were you would not be able to read the contents of the card using a regular sd card reader unless it had the other half of the key embedded in it.


    what is more likely is that there is a key/license file on the card that matches the cards internal serial number and if they don't match the satnav wont work. now its bit more complicated than this because you cannot read the hidden serial number with a standard card reader, you can read the regular serial number but not the hidden one. anyway, once you've found a way to read this its used as a seed to generate the license/key which unlocks the maps. as it happens its a trivial task to read the hidden serial number however i'd still need to know how audi turn that number into a key.


    it is possible to reverse engineer this but then you'd still need to have a dealer/vcds to active the satnav even if you had a genuine card and life's too short to go any further into this.


    all i was trying to do was see if i could copy the maps onto a larger card and fill the remaining space with mp3s. i have 50gb of mp3s, 2 old 32gb cards and didn't want to have to buy a single 64gb card for them. experiment failed.

    rich
    Last edited: May 16, 2013
    #11
  12. mjcourtney
    Online

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    240
    Yep, and if you did manage to activate it with VCDS and bypass the security, Audi would more than likely deactivate it again whenever your car was plugged in at the dealership. I suspect they'd take a dim view of it......
    #12
  13. Joel P
    Offline

    Joel P New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    If someone is able to bybass Audi's DRM, I think best place to take a look is; gpsunderground.com/forum/audi
    #13

Share This Page